Art logo

"Lipstick"

A Timeless Tradition

By Isra SaleemPublished 22 days ago 3 min read
Like
"Lipstick"
Photo by Anastasia Anastasia on Unsplash

As I rummaged through my grandmother's old trunk, I stumbled upon a worn-out lipstick case. The label read "Ruby Red" in elegant cursive. I couldn't help but wonder what stories it held within its crimson walls.

My grandmother, Ammi, was a woman of grace and beauty. She had a penchant for makeup, and her lipstick was always perfectly applied. I remembered watching her get ready for special occasions, her fingers deftly gliding the lipstick across her lips, leaving a subtle smile in its wake.

As I opened the case, a faint scent of rose petals wafted out, transporting me back to Ammi's dressing room. I recalled the countless times she'd let me play with her makeup, teaching me the art of subtlety and elegance. Her lipstick was her trademark, and she wore it like a badge of honor.

I began to imagine the stories this lipstick could tell. The first time Ammi wore it, perhaps on her wedding day, her lips trembling with nervous excitement. The countless family gatherings, where she'd reapply it between conversations, leaving a trail of crimson kisses on teacups and cheekbones.

The lipstick had been with Ammi through it all – the joys and sorrows, the triumphs and tribulations. It had seen her at her most vulnerable, and at her most radiant. And now, it was mine, a tangible connection to the woman who had shaped me into the person I am today.

As I held the lipstick, I felt an overwhelming sense of nostalgia wash over me. I remembered Ammi's words of wisdom, her laughter, and her unwavering support. I recalled the way she'd hold my hand, her fingers adorned with intricate henna designs, guiding me through life's complexities.

I decided to apply the lipstick, feeling the soft glide of the formula against my lips. The color was bold, yet subtle, just like Ammi's presence in my life. I looked in the mirror, and for a moment, I saw Ammi staring back at me – her bright eyes, her gentle smile, and her unmistakable Ruby Red lips.

In that instant, I felt a deep connection to the women who had come before me. The lipstick was more than just a cosmetic; it was a symbol of strength, resilience, and love. It reminded me of the countless times Ammi had lifted me up, of the sacrifices she'd made for our family, and of the unwavering support she'd offered through life's ups and downs.

As I wore the lipstick, I felt Ammi's presence around me, guiding me through the challenges of my own life. I felt her encouragement, her wisdom, and her love. And when I finally removed it, I knew that I would carry her legacy with me, in the subtle curve of my lips, and in the bold strokes of my heart.

The lipstick had told its story, and I was honored to be its keeper. I placed it back in the trunk, alongside Ammi's other treasures, knowing that one day, I would pass it down to my own daughter, along with the stories and the love that came with it.

As I closed the trunk, I felt a sense of gratitude for the memories that lingered within its walls. The lipstick, now a family heirloom, would continue to inspire generations to come, a reminder of the power of love, legacy, and the indelible mark of a woman's spirit.

Years later, when my own daughter asked about the lipstick, I smiled, knowing that the story was far from over. I handed it to her, and as she applied it, I saw Ammi's sparkle in her eyes, and the cycle of love and legacy continued, one bold, crimson stroke at a time.

Mixed MediaDrawing
Like

About the Creator

Isra Saleem

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.