Art logo

It Was Right Under My Nose

Volcanic Eruption

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Myself in Napa Valley in 2022

Day 48/366 of writing in 2024.

Often, we tend to make things more complicated than they need to be. Sometimes, we are so close to our problems that we fail to see the solutions right in front of us. Lately, I have been feeling overwhelmed and exhausted, even writing about it in my recent pieces.

I am currently preparing for a significant art show next weekend, leading a cardio challenge at work, and trying to keep up with my daily commitment to write and publish a piece. Additionally, I just got accepted into another six-week-long art exhibit that begins a week after my current show ends. It seems like everything is happening at once, making it challenging for me to come up with daily writing topics.

However, I recently had a lightbulb moment. I realized that I have written poetry about many of the art pieces I will be showcasing at the upcoming art show. As I sat here printing out the poems I had written, it occurred to me that I could also publish them on Vocal. Duh!!! I was too close to my own creativity to see this as a viable option before.

So, here we go. The first poem I wrote was inspired by my second 3D bottle art piece of the year, which was based on the wine "Volcanic" by Andrew Rich.

I am quite familiar with this particular wine and have enjoyed it on numerous occasions. Oregon Pinot Noirs hold a special place in my heart, and I have a deep appreciation for the region. While I have never visited that part of the country, I extensively researched the volcanic inspiration behind the wine. I studied images of its eruption in 1859 and drew from my experiences of hiking a volcano on the Big Island of Hawaii during my time living there. I am intimately familiar with the appearance of lava in its various stages, from fresh to aged, and the intricate patterns it forms, often glistening with diamond-like dust.

Image of 1859 eruption

With this knowledge and inspiration, I painted the volcano on the background. Then I took the bottle and shattered it, and then coated it in resin, culminating in a piece that I then wrote a poem about. This creative process began with the simple act of savoring the wine and fully immersing myself in the sensory experience it provided.

Background painted by me.

Finished 3D version here.

Volcanic Eruption

Adam Rich's volcanic Pinot noir,

A fiery eruption, a wine to adore.

Like molten lava, it flows with grace,

Igniting the palate, leaving a trace.

The aroma rises, a smoky bouquet,

Intense and complex, it leads the way.

With each sip, the flavors explode,

Red berries and spices, a symphony bestowed.

Like a volcano's fury, it dances on the tongue,

Elegant and bold, a journey begun.

The tannins erupt, a volcanic embrace,

Leaving a warmth, a lingering taste.

Adam Rich's Pinot noir, a masterpiece divine,

A volcanic eruption, a treasure to find.

Through the vineyards it flows, a passionate roar,

An eruption of flavors, forever to adore.

**If you are in the DC area and love art and wine then consider coming to my Art Show Uncorked at Wine Cellars of Annapolis on 02/24/24 There will be a free Oregon Wine Tasting in conjunction with the show from 11am-4pm.

Introducing Art Uncorked
An Art Show & Sale Featuring A Collection
Of Original Works From Local Artist Jen Lancaster 
Saturday, February 24th, 11:00 - 4:00pm 1410 Forest Dr, Annapolis, MD 21403 Free to Join! Lots of great wine specials for purchase. More info here.

Featured Artist Jen Lancaster

Jen Lancaster is a local, multi-talented artist with a passion for creativity, a lifelong love for painting, and a deep appreciation for nature, color, design, music, and wine.

She will be showcasing her latest collection of nature, color/design, music, and wine-inspired pieces. Each piece offers a glimpse into Jen's artistic journey and the diverse influences that shape her unique style.

Be prepared to be captivated, inspired, and moved as you immerse yourself in the vibrant and soulful expressions of Jen's artistic vision. Each of Jen's unique pieces will have its own distinctive written story to accompany it.

Exhibition
1

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.