Art logo

I took a mindful walk every day for a week — here's how it changed my mind and body

Health

By MD SyfullahPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
1
I took a mindful walk every day for a week — here's how it changed my mind and body
Photo by Liu Jiao on Unsplash

As someone eager to step outside every day to move my body, come rain or shine, I am no stranger to going for a daily walk. But doing it mindfully (being in the moment)? That’s a different story.

Often, I bolt out of the door caught up in my whirring thoughts as I march around my neighborhood and before I know it, I’m back at my house not having noticed what I saw while I was outside.

So when I had the opportunity to take a mindful walk every day for a week, I grabbed it. I wanted to see if I could experience the physical and mental benefits associated with the activity in this short time.

Sponsored Links

Play War Thunder now for free

War Thunder

Each day, I popped my earphones in and used a guided exercise on one of the best relaxation apps targeted at encouraging mindful walking. I varied whether I simply walked around my neighborhood, took a stroll in a park, or had friends or family accompany me on a longer amble.

LATEST VIDEOS FROM TOMSGUIDE

But walking isn’t the only exercise that promotes mindfulness. Yoga helps to focus attention on the movement of the body at the present moment, according to Harvard Health Publishing. Each week, I roll out one of the best yoga mats in a class, so I was hoping this would aid my challenge.

WHAT IS MINDFUL WALKING?

Integrating mindfulness with walking is a meditative technique that has been practiced for thousands of years, offering various benefits such as improved mood and balance.

According to Michigan State University, mindful walking is the practice of walking while being fully present in the moment, but I prefer Dora Kamau’s, mindfulness and meditation teacher for Headspace, definition: “Mindful walking is being where your feet are.”

Contemporary Art
1

About the Creator

MD Syfullah

I AM WORK BOY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.