Art logo

I cherished You Enough

A Discussion Sonnet

By md hanifPublished 3 days ago 2 min read
I cherished You Enough
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Take a look at you. How did things turn out for you?

I take a daily look at myself. I don't require instruction from anyone.

You have changed because life has a way of altering individuals.

It's possible that people can change other people. At times, the choice is yours.

Do you believe that you haven't evolved?

Do you believe that you are similar?

It's about you, not about me.

So am I not allowed to inquire as well?

You find this funny, I see. I understand.

No, instead of looking inward, we are eager to assign blame.

I understand your intention.

Nothing is trying to be done by me. This concerns you and me.

Our first date sticks in my memory. It was you who gave me skating lessons.

It's something I also recall. I brought you home late, and your father got upset.

What transpired was that it felt fantastic to be together.

You fail to remember that your parents forbade you from getting married to a man from your neighborhood.

I wanted a life with you, no matter what people said.

You opted to leave even though I told you not to, therefore you obviously did care.

How did you think I would respond?

To defend me, to stick around because I

So for what reason did you return after so much time?

A similar explanation you did. I missed home. A piece of me missed you, as well.

I'm sorry I didn't remain.

I get it. Your kids are delightful, incidentally.

I thought you'd come after me. I attempted to pause.

I cherished you enough to realize that another man would be a superior mate.

I realize you didn't need kids.

Also, I knew having them would satisfy you.

You satisfied me.

I was unable to allow you to forfeit that for me.

I had trusted that I would see you once more. I'm shocked it turned into a reality.

I had trusted that in the event that I did, I'd tell you I cherished you enough to surrender you so you could have a family.

HistoryGeneralFine ArtFictionContemporary Art

About the Creator

md hanif

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    md hanifWritten by md hanif

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.