Art logo

From Holes to Wholes:

Transform Your Wardrobe with a Darning Egg

By Lisa BriskeyPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
https://www.flickr.com/photos/calliope

To darn is to stitch up a small hole in a piece of clothing. There’s even a specific stitch known as a “darning stitch,” in which you first weave the thread with the grain of the fabric, and then fill in the other “woven” direction. The result is a sturdy patch made only of thread. Darn comes from the Middle French darner, “mend” (“Darn.” Vocabulary.com. https://www.vocabulary.com/dictionary/darn. Accessed 02 July 2023).

In Europe, the process of mending fabric was called darning. Budding homemakers learned how to repair worn-out fabric by making darning samples.

Most darning eggs will be made of wood since it is easier to work with but you will also find some that are made of stone, metal, or ceramic. Some have handles to make them easier to use.

You can use a darning egg or a darning mushroom when darning or mending. The darning mushroom is similar to the darning egg. The mushroom has a bigger and flatter working surface for larger repairs on larger pieces of clothing. Smaller repairs use the darning egg, and larger repairs use the darning mushroom.

Instead of throwing away socks, pick up a darning egg and stitch up the hole with a needle and thread. Most people associate the darning egg with socks since it makes it easier to darn or mend socks. Darning eggs can be used for other sewing projects as well. Most sewing or craft shops will have darning eggs in all shapes or sizes to sell. You can also use these sewing accessories to darn sweaters or jeans. Darning eggs is a must-have for anyone who sews.

My dad made me a darning egg years ago to add to my sewing basket. I love the egg. My dad remembers his mom and his grandmothers using darning eggs to darn their woolen socks. My grandmother had two darning eggs in her sewing basket, and one of them was black. Unfortunately, my grandmother’s darning egg was lost in a fire many years ago. My dad is good at making things with wood so the first darning egg he made was crafted from his childhood memory.

My dad made me this

History

About the Creator

Lisa Briskey

I love to write, crochet, and sew. I am a grandmother of a two-year-old granddaughter.

Follow me on Medium: https://medium.com/@lisabriskey5

And support me on my Ko-fi: https://ko-fi.com/lisaj or https://ko-fi.com/lisabriskey

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • ema4 months ago

    Very interesting article, my grandma loved to sew, unfortunately I have never learnt

Lisa BriskeyWritten by Lisa Briskey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.