Art logo

Folk Art By Me

By Tracy L.

By Tracy LawsonPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
2
The Sheep Farm

Not only can I write, I can paint as well.

Few years ago, I began to look into painting and thought maybe I can do folk art. I've done a few pieces here and there. Would stop painting for years because I couldn't focus long enough on a piece. I would make happy little mistakes and stop. I thought about giving up but then that would be defeating the purpose of painting.

I couldn't do that. So, I began to study other people's artwork with my 'vision blurriness' and eyestrain. Off line, I prepared a 5 x 7 canvas and began to paint a wonderful little pasture with a brown barn. Around the barn, I painted some sheep. This was my very first attempt at this type of art and it was a great feeling when I finished it.

My second painting was on an 8 x 10 canvas and I didn't know what I would paint. It's so easy to paint a sky blue and the land green. But, what about the details of the land and what is flying around in the sky? How about a river? Not to forget that there must be some trees, flowers, and some life?

Painting this painting was something I really enjoyed and the more I added to this painting, the more I saw come together. I didn't just stop with one main house, I painted in a barn with a fence and a farmhand house as well.

The Sheep Farm

I didn't stop there and a painting of a beautiful cow I named, Maribel, emerged. Maribel seemed to come to life with each stroke of the brush. The land and the sweet cow was really enjoyable to paint. This is a 4x4 panel.

Maribel

I also have a work in progress and have started a sky and a green land painting. I don't entirely know what I'll be painting next because I believe that canvases have a life of their own and therefore will come together as you paint them. It may seem like it's easy because you're looking at the finished pieces. What you don't see is the work that goes behind the finished pieces.

Time, effort, paint, brushes, inspiration, and imagination are the work. Then you factor that with the cost of supplies and paint.

Fairs and Shows

I have thought about attending and participating in Fairs and Art Shows in my local community. But as a starting artist, I wanted to avoid them. Partially due to Covid-19 still being around and yes, I'm fully vaccinated. But, I can still get it.

The other reason I don't attend is because of the insults I've heard from people comment about how their children are skilled artists and can do this. It was directed to my Mom when she would show off her artwork. So, starting out and getting told this can affect an artist.

I also sold handcrafted Jewelry and was told that very same thing. "Oh, I can do this by myself.", "Wow! That's expensive." , and "I can buy these beads at Walmart and make my own jewelry." Factoring in the tools, expenses of buying the beads, wire, time, and findings, it's no easy task to make jewelry. It takes hours, patience, and imagination to create a wonderful piece. I once told myself that I charge by the bead and my time. Even as well as looking into the state's minimum wage. I didn't charge a state tax with my jewelry, nor did I charge a tax for my artwork.

I even had one man told me that they could get a necklace I made at Kay's Jewelers for less. I did my research and found that there was a piece selling for more than $500. Now I could have charged that much for just the necklace. However, the item at Kay's was a set with a pair of earrings whereas, my piece was just a necklace.

Too many people undervalue their art and jewelry. I was bold and charged more than I should on my three artwork pieces because I believed they were great! I was hoping for someone to purchase all three in one go. But, they sat for months on my Etsy shop. Months without being sold. They were liked. I decided to deactivate them to refresh new stock when I get around to painting my newest.

Mind you, I have glasses, so I'm overwhelmed with wanting to do so much. But, can't rush into things. I have to schedule time to do so. I'll try to get painting this week or the next. We shall see.

Painting
2

About the Creator

Tracy Lawson

Hello everyone. I'm a science fiction, fantasy, horror, real life author. I enjoy writing poetry as well in my spare time. I'm happy to share my stories on here with the hopes of getting out there.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    I greatly enjoyed seeing your art with your writing. This is very well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.