Art logo

Crochet,

A Lost Art

By Lisa BriskeyPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Like

I come from a family of artists, and crafters from both sides of my family. I will be forever grateful to my grandmother who taught me how to crochet. It has been healing for me. When I was growing up, my dream was to study art in Paris and have my paintings in art shows and galleries. This dream got me through some hard times and for me was as vital as the air that I breathe. I taught myself to paint and draw. When I was in high school, I would take every art course that I could and even entered some art shows where I won awards. I was a shy girl who didn’t make friends easily but art was a way for me to be me. During my junior year in high school, I entered a drawing contest and won. A man from the school came to meet me. By the time he left, I was enrolled in his art school. We didn’t have much money but my dad made sure that I was enrolled. So while going to high school during the day at night after my chores and homework were done I would work on my art school. This school was the Art Correspondence School from Minnesota where Charles Schultz also went to. After high school, I paid for art tutors and went to Art classes through a program at the high school. Then I finally started college to get my art degree. I loved my art classes but one of my professors would always harshly critique my work and I would always end up crying when leaving her room until one day when I had it and quit painting for good which was over 20 years ago. I wish I hadn’t quit my dream but I was so timid and shy that I didn’t know how to handle it. It was the end of one dream but the start of another dream.

Most people think that grandmas are the only ones who knit or crochet. It has become a lost art. After painting, crochet became my artist outlet. The yarn became my medium instead of painting. During my childhood visits to my grandparents, I would always see my grandmother knitting. She would take it with her everywhere she went and I thought it was funny.

My discovery of crochet started when I was a child. I learned the art of crochet from my talented grandmother. She first tried to teach me how to knit which involves two needles instead of the one crochet hook. I couldn’t get the hang of knitting the stitches were either too loose or too tight. I did knit a sweater on her knitting machine with her help. After the disaster with knitting, she then proceeded to teach me how to crochet which I took to like a duck to water. She taught me how to single crochet and my first project was a scarf. I did crochet during my childhood but painting was still my thing at this point. I did love to crochet with my grandmother. I was in my late 20’s when I really picked up crocheting and haven’t stopped. Now I crochet like my life depends on it. After picking up crocheting again, my grandmother helped me to refresh my skill. I went on YouTube and watched so many videos on how and what to crochet. I taught myself how to crochet different stitches and different things to make. Now I have taught people to crochet and hope to teach more how to crochet. My new dream is to have my own business where I sell my products. I have sold stuff in the past and love it. I crochet items for family and friends. I can do this because my grandmother taught me and never gave up. She gave me a different dream.

What I think is ironic is that growing up I thought my grandma was weird for taking her knitting with her everywhere she went but now I make sure that my yarn and hook are with me everywhere I go. Crocheting has healing powers and can be beneficial. Crocheting makes me feel better and helps me to be calmer and less stressed. Making things for others is a great feeling. I hope that one- day this art will be more prominent than it is today. Crocheting/knitting is fun but also makes one happier, calmer, and able to be more focused. It also helps with insomnia, helps ease depression, anxiety, and stress builds self-esteem and may reduce the risk of Alzheimer’s by 30–50%. Crochet is my new dream.

History
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Briskey

I love to write, crochet, and sew. I am a grandmother of a two-year-old granddaughter.

Follow me on Medium: https://medium.com/@lisabriskey5

And support me on my Ko-fi: https://ko-fi.com/lisaj or https://ko-fi.com/lisabriskey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.