Art logo

2 Crochet Patterns

How to crochet a Preemie Hat and Makeup Pad

By Lisa BriskeyPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
1

Turn Leftover Yarn Into a Cute Crocheted Preemie Hat

I love to crochet. I had never crocheted a preemie hat before, but I decided to try it because I had some leftover yarn. The leftover yarn wasn’t long enough for a big project but it was perfect for a small hat. One evening, I sat down with a cup of coffee and just crocheted until I ran out of yarn. These hats are great if you know someone who has a preemie baby or if you want to crochet a bunch of hats to donate.

I am grateful that my grandmother taught me how to crochet. She taught me the basics, and I learned the rest by watching YouTube videos. It’s amazing how much you can learn by watching videos on YouTube.

I am not good at writing out patterns. So if this is not easy to follow, please let me know.

Items Needed

Yarn (any color)

Crochet needle (any size; I prefer the 5 needles)

Sewing needle (optional, to weave in the ends)

Step-by-Step Instructions

Chain 3.

Row 1: You will need to do 12 double crochet (dc) in the 3rd chain. Then do a slip stitch. Chain 2 then turn over.

Row 2: You will need to double crochet (dc) in the same stitch as chain 2, then 2 double crochet (dc) in each stitch. Then do a slip stitch. Chain 2 then turn over.

Row 3: You will need to double-crochet (dc) in the same stitch. 1 double crochet (dc) in the next stitch, 2 double crochet in the next stitch, repeat around. Then do a slip stitch. Chain 2 then turn over.

Rows 4 to 7: You will need to crochet 1 double crochet (dc) in the same stitch as chain 2. 1 double crochet (dc) in each double crochet (dc) around. Then do a slip stitch. Chain 1 then turn over.

Row 8: Do 1 single crochet in each double crochet (dc) all around until you get to the end. Then do a slip stitch. Cut the yarn and pull it through the hat.

How to Crochet a Makeup Pad

I am always thinking of something new to crochet and to use. I had decided to stop buying things that I could crochet or sew to reuse over and over again. I use this pad to wash my face. I love this. The great thing about the pattern is that you can make it any size you want. I used this pattern and crocheted a makeup pad, washcloth, and coasters. This is great for yourself or gifts for loved ones.

Instructions

Chain 4 then slip stitch the two ends together. Then chain 3.

Then crochet 11 double crochet (dc) stitches. You should have 12 in all. Then slip stitch and chain 3.

Then do 2 dc in each stitch. You should have 24. Slip stitch and chain 3.

Then do 2 dc in 1 stitch and then 1 dc in the next. Repeat this until you reach the end. You should have 36. Slip stitch and chain 3.

Do 2 dc in 1 stitch then 3 dc in single stitch. Repeat this then slip stitch. Cut the yarn and pull the yarn through. Weave the end into the makeup pad.

Techniques
1

About the Creator

Lisa Briskey

I love to write, crochet, and sew. I am a grandmother of a two-year-old granddaughter.

Follow me on Medium: https://medium.com/@lisabriskey5

And support me on my Ko-fi: https://ko-fi.com/lisaj or https://ko-fi.com/lisabriskey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.