What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?
Can people you block on Snapchat see your stories, posts, or send you messages?
What happens when you block someone on Snapchat?
Though we wish it never occurs to you, are we all curious about what happens whenever you block others on Snapchat? For some reason, viewers never get to experience the other aspect of the story. Can they still get in touch with you? Are they able to see your storylines?
So, we're here to set your mind at ease. So, let's have a look at what occurs after you block somebody on Snapchat.
What occurs on Snapchat once you block someone?
Well, let's get started. Here's what occurs on Snapchat after you block somebody. Note that to block somebody, they don't have to become on your list of friends, however for such examples, we'll pretend they are in your friend list.
- They are not allowed to send you snaps.
As previously stated, if a user is blocked, the conversation interface remains intact. It also implies that they will have the ability to send you texts. Those texts, though, will never be delivered to you. On the blocked individual's end, messages will display as unread, and you'll never get any indication of the conversations being sent to you.
Likewise, if a blocked individual offers you a snap, this will be marked as sent on their side. But you will never be notified of the same. The whole feature protects the blockage simply by not informing the individual who has been blocked that they've been prohibited.
- People can still see your pictures and videos.
As we understand that the Snap would go through irrespective if the individual is blocked, the issue is whether banning a person will result in the deletion of an unopened Snap. Regrettably, the answer is no. Even though the snapshot is still unread, they may still open it and view it although the user is blocked. This is confusing because you wouldn't like a blocked individual to see your picture.
Users will, therefore, be unable to see the picture once it has expired (after 24 hours).
- Sending texts or pictures will not be delivered.
Continuing with the previous example, the blocked individual has texted you when you have already blocked them. Whenever you unblock them at any time, the text they wrote will never be delivered to you. You will never get the text while it is unopened on the blocked individual's end.
Likewise, if the banned individual sent you a snapshot when they were blacklisted, the snapshot will be hidden from you after they are unblocked. Although it will continue unchecked on the banned person's end, you will receive no notification of the individual ever sending you a snap at all, although if it still has not expired.
Can you view previously stored texts?
As previously stated, to unblock someone, you must first bring them again to your list of friends. You will be unable to contact someone if you do not. This is because banning someone also unfriends them.
You may start a communication with them before you've accepted them again as a friend. All stored communications will remain accessible as if the individual had never been blocked the first time.
Will they find out?
No, Snapchat doesn't at all notify the individual who has been blocked. It is a security feature that safeguards the blocker. As previously stated, even when the blocked individual attempts to deliver you a conversation text or snaps, it will be sent even though they're not blocked.
The first and only method for someone to know if they've been blocked is to check your conversation and see that you've not received any of their conversations or pictures in a moment.
The individual who has blocked you will be deleted from your list of best friends.
Whenever you block someone, your engagement with them would be instantaneously reduced to nil. Closest buddies and Snapstreaks use engagement to rate your connections. Because your engagement has been lowered to nil, the blocked individual will be immediately eliminated from your Best Friends list.
When you unblock or re-friend the individual, you will need to restart your conversation from the beginning. This implies that you won't be able to save your prior Snapstreaks if you have them.
You will not get any notifications.
Sadly, you will not be alerted if a blocked user captures one of your conversations. Whereas the indication that they now have a photograph will display upon the perspective of the banned individual, you will not receive any alerts.
Furthermore, even though you unblock someone and put them back on your list of friends, you will not be able to check if someone has screenshotted any chats.
Is it possible to undo a snapping by blocking?
When exchanging snaps, Snapchat makes use of cloud storage. This occurs as immediately as you press the send button, your snap is posted to the Snapchat server. This is why there is no way to cancel a snap after it has been sent.
Conversely, if you transmit a photo and subsequently block the recipient, the recipient will continue to receive the snap as though nothing had occurred. Regardless of whether they are blocked, they may access and examine the picture. They will, meanwhile, be unable to Snapback.
Read more articles about Snapchat we published on Vocal:
I hope this helps.