01 logo

Listen & Observe

Is it that difficult?

By Daily Dose by LopaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Listen & Observe
Photo by camilo jimenez on Unsplash

We, Millennials are the bridge between non-computer generation and fast-moving online marketplaces.

We, Millennials are the generation that is helping many industries to thrive in this COVID 19 pandemic by using technology to the fullest.

We, as Millennials have the power to start something great, conquer the world, support one another & create a safe & healthy community around us.

But do we really do so? Do we really do what we put out on our social media posts? Do we really mean the words that we share, comment and like?

Do we listen? Do we observe our surrounding? Or do we just do those things because it is the trend, and everybody is doing it?

I am neither blaming anyone nor saying that the way things are done is incorrect. I am here to tell you a lesson that i learnt recently.

In March 2020, COVID-19 hit the world. Businesses, communities, families, individuals and the world went into the shock of the shutdown. Every human being in 2020 is living through history which our future generation will see it as a case study. Mental health, physical well-being and financial stability are at risk. We are doing great to survive this & we will definitely see the bright side.

Like a Millennial, my life revolved around social media, zoom calls and regular online chats with my friends & family. I got used to this situation & started living through it. I genuinely support and try to help local communities and small businesses. I work for a small business; my father is a small farmer in a small village of India and all my life I have known the struggle & accomplishments of a small & local business. I started supporting the campaign VOCAL ABOUT LOCAL during this pandemic. I wrote articles on LinkedIn, other social platforms, shared incredible work done by individuals towards this cause and started spreading the word for local & small businesses. I felt accomplished & satisfied. But I was not aware of my own reality until a few weeks ago. My sister who resides in Bhubaneswar, India wanted to order a wood table for her work from home. She just discussed that with my father before ordering it online from a well-known Indian furniture website. My father advised my sister not to order online rather do with the local furniture maker, who is known to my father from ages. I was unaware of all this. When I heard the story, instantly I said, “WHY SO MUCH DRAMA? ORDER ONLINE, IT’S MUCH EASIER AND YOU DON’T HAVE TO WORRY”. My father & sister said, ‘YOU SUPPORT LOCAL BUSINESS, BUT DO NOT WANT TO ADAPT IN YOUR OWN LIFE & FAMILY’. I was blank at that point in time. The Furniture maker had lost all his business to COVID-19, he was barely surviving, no access to social media and internet, he/his family even have no idea that people can order online these days. And because of this order, he got the confidence that he can survive this unprecedented circumstance and blessed our family.

By Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

So, my lesson here is, being a Millennial I thought I was doing my part to help people/community through social media & internet (as all works around it these days), but I forgot that i can also help outside my phone & social media. I JUST NEED TO LISTEN & OBSERVE. Support or help can be done in various ways and social media is a great method for it but not the only one. Just to mention here, neither I nor my family has anything against online platforms or e-commerce. E-commerce is indeed the survival catalyst for many small businesses right now. But, from this experience, I want to say to all that social media is a great resource & we definitely should use it but don't forget your immediate surrounding! Live by your words that you put online, adapt it in your daily life, encourage your family & friends to do the right thing, and don’t just put out there because someone else has done it or its trending; rather do it to support someone & genuinely look around you that someone may really need your help.

I am blessed to have sisters, parents and friends that keep telling me to do the right thing & to stay positive. I just want to pass on that to others. Hope someone learns from my mistake & does the right thing. Do you think it is difficult to just listen & observe?

Thank you for reading! Stay safe, healthy & happy!

social media
1

About the Creator

Daily Dose by Lopa

We are all told, “live your life to the fullest”; I am here to do just that. Daily Dose serves as a vessel to project my passions, and clue in my loyal readers as to what inspires me in this crazy world. So, sit back, relax, and read on!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.