01 logo

Disconnection

The Day My Google Pixel Died

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3
The Day My Phone Died

Introduction

I am not sure how many people consider that they are reliant on their phones or computers, but if you were not using some kind of device you would not be reading this.

While I don’t see my phone as life or death, I do rely on it for a heck of a lot of things, especially when a new month starts, but twenty years back I got my first mobile forced on me by my daughter Juliet.

But today was my first day without my phone and these are some of the things I discovered. I did take my Kindle Fire with me but continually having to find a wifi connection is a pain and the camera option is not that great and is a bit awkward to access.

You can hold your phone in your hand and it is easy to manipulate even though I have (or had) a Google Pixel 3XL.

My First Day Without My Google Pixel 3XL

The thing is I feel I am cut off from my friends, and this is mainly my friends in the Vocal Groups and across the pond. All of a sudden I cannot immediately message or receive messages. I have friends in Canada, Malaysia, the USA (mainly Texas), the Antipodes and many other parts of the globe. Before Vocal Facebook did not take up much of my time, but now it does, and losing that connection actually hurts a little.

I seldom wear a watch these days, though I have a good selection of timepieces, and I use my phone to check the time. There seem to be very few public clocks (that work) these days, a bit like phone boxes, and today I had a 2:30 appointment but had to just hope I would get there in time. I had set off in plenty of time and got there at 2:15.

Today because of my phone dying I didn’t eat and thought I’d pick up a sandwich from Gregg’s, but the money is on my phone app and I had no phone.

I kept thinking I’d left something behind because there was a space in my pocket where my phone normally is.

Another thing is I like the fact that my phone records my steps but no phone, no step recording. I hope this does not stop me from walking, but only I know how far I have walked, and you could say "Ah but really you were just lying on the couch".

The Google Pixel 3XL has an excellent camera and allows me to take lots of photographs, especially cats for #CatsofVocal on Instagram and Twitter and Cats of Vocal on Facebook. Again I am missing that option.

Our phones have so many apps we don’t use but so many we do use. I went towards the bus stop and then realised I would have to use the timetable, and couldn’t check if the bus was late or cancelled, but I actually caught one.

Another problem is sites with two-factor authentication that send you a text to log in. Some are sensible and give you the option of getting an email, but some are stuck with the text message which makes me stuck,

Concluding My First Day Without My Google Pixel 3XL

I am at home writing this and while I will be fine without my phone I would rather have it. I have learnt my lesson about buying transient phones, and have my computer and Kindle so it’s not like I am completely cut off, just a mighty inconvenience.

product review
3

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    I swear I remember reading this, but there was no heart. There is now. Well done.

  • Oh yes, I rely on my phone to count my daily steps as well. Although I don't go outside, I walk indoors for 1 hour daily. That covers approximately 7500 steps which is equivalent to 5.5 km

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.