01 logo

Dear LinkedIn, can you please add these features?

How could LinkedIn improve for job seekers? Here are some ideas.

By Simona RossoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dear LinkedIn, can you please add these features?
Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

I've been on LinkedIn since 2018, and I couldn't be more grateful. Thanks to this platform, I managed to find an amazing internship, and I gained some insights into the corporate world and the job marketplace.

However, like most apps, LinkedIn is far from perfect. Over the years, I had several problems that could be easily fixed. So, here's my list of features that I wish LinkedIn would add!

Stop proposing certain companies once I've rejected a certain amount of offers.

Sometimes, I actively search for jobs manually, instead of relying solely on notifications. Yet, I've noticed that many companies tend to post multiple times to advertise the same job. 

This shrinks my range of options to a huge extent, and I find it frustrating. The option "show less offers like this" doesn't help: I've used it multiple times just to get the same posts from the exact same companies again.

Such a feature, or even improving the "show fewer offers like this" option, would make our job search much easier, more productive, and even safer.

Indeed, I once found myself refusing a sketchy offer. Whoever wrote it used an MLM-ish language, giving away its nature. Let's be clear, they were not saying "Hey, we are a multi-level marketing company", but I found some sentences that would have screamed MLM to anyone familiar with them. I especially remember one in particular:

You are going to climb up the hierarchy by recruiting new collaborators for your team.

For transparency, I cannot remember the name of the company that posted this, but if you see such phrasing in a job offer, run.

Besides the fact that LinkedIn is completely incapable of filtering and deleting scammy offers, having many identical offers from the same company popping up is not helpful to job seekers at all, as it shrinks their options and kind of pressures them into applying for those companies.

This makes LinkedIn look like a "career day" held by colleges and universities. These are marketed as "a pool of job opportunities", but are a way for companies to market themselves to applicants, rather than an insight into the job marketplace in general.

Fix the algorithm for suitable job posts.

A screenshot of a job offer for an Estonian translator that is supposed to be suitable for me, according to LinkedIn..

This screenshot speaks for itself. I don't speak Estonian, I have never studied Estonian, nor have I ever said in my profile that I do. But I still get this as a "suitable" job offer. 

The weird assessments of the algorithm are not limited to a language I don't speak, unfortunately. In the past, I've been deemed suitable to work as a railway maintenance worker, and as a lawyer. Now, both are respectable jobs, but they have nothing to do with my experience, my education, and my skills, so what makes you think I could do well at them?

Moreover, in Italy, you have to pass specific exams and get specific certifications that legally allow you to work as a lawyer, otherwise, you can't. How am I supposed to be a good lawyer if I don't meet such requirements, LinkedIn?

Separate paid work from volunteering.

As I started publishing on Medium and Vocal, I have considered making content writing a job, so I made a specific alert on LinkedIn. However, my search has been anything but successful. 

Indeed, all the offers I've got were not job offers. They were looking for volunteers. Now, I'm sure that there are people who would be glad to volunteer for them. My goals, though, are different, so why should I get these offers? Simply put, paid work and volunteering fall under the same category, with little to no distinction. 

Different people have different goals. If you want to do something as a volunteer, good for you. But, if you want paid work, such offers are useless and even discouraging, because they make it seem like nobody wants to pay you for your skills.

A filter to separate volunteering from paid work would solve this problem and provide the users with a more accurate experience by helping them sort the offers that align the most with their goals.

These were some features I wish LinkedIn added. Do you use LinkedIn? How would you improve it?

Tell me in the comments and, if you liked this article, subscribe to my profile!

social media
Like

About the Creator

Simona Rosso

She/her. I write about pop culture, and I love dissecting every single medium I come across.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.