01 logo

Apps you absolutely need to know to live better

Essentials apps for your phone

By Eleanor CasePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

In my life, since smartphones exist, I have only ever had to deal with the iPhone. Over the years I have become a real expert of the App Store and after a thousand different attempts, a thousand unsuccessful downloads, subscriptions and disappointing apps, I have come to draw up a list of the apps that you may not know, but that you might need.

I don't want to mention WhatsApp or anything like that, but only apps with a capital A that I found hidden among a thousand others that in my opinion are the best.

1. Spark to manage emails

Let's start with the practical stuff. We all check the emails from the phone, maybe some will have connected multiple accounts or at least would like. Who is not looking for a free and practical app that keeps multiple email addresses without creating too much confusion in the inbox (and why not also with a pretty graphic)? Well, there is only one solution: Spark. I discovered this app I have to say a little by chance, but after a year and more of use, it is, for now, the only one I can't find a fault with. Unfortunately, the app is currently only available for Apple devices.

2. BatteryLife to find out the status of your battery

What interests me to know about the battery status? You are wondering and instead, I assure you that this app is super useful. It is one of those applications that you don't always need to have permanently on your phone, but that should only be downloaded when needed. What it is in short: if you notice that your phone is less performing, maybe it overheats often or discharges very quickly with this app you will be able to see the "health" level of the battery to find out if it's time or not to change it. BatteryLife, which I have actually used personally more than once, has allowed me to have confirmation of my fears, that is that the battery was almost definitively dead. With graphs and statistics, it also offers you information on its current top-up. Available for iOS.

3. TickTick is all you need

This app I must say has been a recent discovery, but I have never been happier. Browsing desperately through the store, over the years I came across a thousand productivity applications, all different but all the same: with few free and impractical contents. I have tried at least a dozen and then abandon them all for their little fungibility. TickTick was a real revelation. Not only does it create to-do lists quickly and graphically appealing, but it allows you to plan deadlines, to create sublists or additional notes, to organize various things to do in different categories, it has a calendar for planning and it is also available for Mac where it is also possible to attach files (free one a day) inside the notes, all this free. In short, it is perfect, try it to believe it. Very good news TickTick is also available for Android and can also be used from their website.

4. Stocard for a lighter wallet

Stocard became immediately my most trusted portfolio aide. No, it's not a personal finance app, but a small archive of our loyalty cards. Just scan the barcode to have a thousand different cards in the phone, from that of supermarkets to that of Zara or Sephora and if it is not present in the list you can register your card manually, as I did for the library's one. When you go at the checkout, just take out your phone and select your loyalty card; with Stocard geolocation it will automatically put you on top of the cards that it deems most right based on your position. Available for iOS and Android.

5. Tide the minimal timer

As a university student, I often found myself looking for a good timer for studying. For those unfamiliar with the technique, it basically provides for an alternation of about 25 minutes of study with a 5-minute break, in order to rest the mind and then assimilate the information. Here too I have experimented with many apps, some good, some less. Tide is an excellent compromise between practicality and price since it is free. It offers both a timer with some natural sounds (rain, waves, etc.) for concentration and, with the new version, an alarm clock for the morning / nap function which I have not yet tried. I like how it is structured with its minimal but good features. I use it to study, so as to take breaks from time to time, I used it some time ago for meditation and I must say that it has always satisfied me in its function. Available for iOS and Android.

6. Notion for everything

Notion is my best discovered of 2019: the best note-taking app. Inside Notion you can do, literally, everything you need and want. Synchronized with the app on the phone and on Mac, you can access all your checklist, list of things, calendar, notes, etc in only one place. The app is free and this is amazing. At the beginning is not the easiest thing to use, but with some experience, Notion will be a big part of your organization system. I can't itemize all the functions, check them all on their website.

apps
Like

About the Creator

Eleanor Case

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.