Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

899

A microfiction series: Part 6

By Real PoeticPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
13
899
Photo by Logan Fisher on Unsplash

Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Part 5

Part 7

Darlene’s worst nightmare is happening in real time. Casey isn’t about to let her go easily. He tugs her into the backseat of his car while still holding the knife to her throat. Her skin is now slightly broken. So is her hopes of making it out of the vehicle alive.

Nia is biting her already short fingernails when Casey orders her to get into the driver’s seat and pull off. Nia doesn’t hesitate to let him take control anymore. She hops into the car and drives toward the highway.

“Tell me everything you know about Preston’s death,” Casey asks Darlene calmly.

“I don’t know anything else. I promise. I was just doing what I was told. I never ask questions,” she utters fearfully.

“Darlene. Darlene. You know I don’t like it when you lie to me,” Casey says with an intimidating smile and forceful laugh.

“Nia, hit the gas until you’re driving 100 miles per hour. Maybe a little speed will jog Darlene’s selective memory,” Casey demands.

Nia presses her foot down on the peddle, and everyone in the car is thrown backwards. The knife is sinking deeper into her damaged skin. Darlene realizes there’s no other way to get out of this unless she tells something of value.

Darlene shouts, “Stop the car! I’ll tell you what I know. Just please let me go. I have a daughter.”

“Go on,” Casey replies as he begins to lightly touch her scalp with the knife.

Nia quickly looks in the backseat to see what’s going on, and then she turns back around to focus on the road. She figures she should mind her business. Another car is getting over into their lane, and Nia doesn’t see it. They’re about to collide, but the other driver honks and gets her attention. Nia swerves into the next lane to avoid a crash.

“The director runs a business for women who wanna enter the United States illegally,” Darlene says firmly.

“And what the hell does that have to do with my brother?” Casey replies.

“I don’t know! You’ll have to ask the director for yourself! Now, can you please let me out of this car?” Darlene exclaims.

Casey tells Nia to slow down. Before the car comes to a stop, he unlocks the door and pushes Darlene out, and they watch as she tumbles into a muddy ditch.

MicrofictionMysteryCONTENT WARNING
13

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write what I want, whenever I want.

Thanks for reading!

-R.P. ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    I just realized I hadn't read this one yet so I back tracked!! I love where you went with this!!

  • Bozhan Bozhkov3 months ago

    The situation is becoming more complicated for our heroes. The director will be a tough nut to crack. Additionally, Darlene may call the authorities, if not the police, then at least the company's security. Furthermore, the director may turn his gangsters against them. The story is becoming increasingly intriguing.

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    😮 Damn! Mr. director. The mystery deepens!

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Women who wants to enter the US illegally. I really wanna know what does Preston had to do with this.

  • So is/was Jasmine an illegal perhaps mail-order bride gone wrong? (I'm guessing the Director might be able to tell us. Unless it goes up further. At any rate, shouldn't have let Darlene go until you get to the Director. Hate to have her calling to warn him.)

  • Ha Le Sa3 months ago

    Amazing!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    A good cliff hanger!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Oh, my. That director sounds like bad news all around.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.