Writers logo

Writing Is a Gift-Part 2

If I just simply say "thank you" I would be doing this community a great disservice.

By E.AmaliaPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
1
Writing Is a Gift-Part 2
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I’m convinced.

Writing is actually, truly, really a gift.

By Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

This article is more of an expression of gratitude, and there will be lots of cheese, so if you haven’t read part 1, please do that because leaning into the cheese and sappy is so good for our souls.

Well, I’m going headlong...please don't hear this as a brag attack. I've never been a tooter of my own horn (in my case it's a confidence issue...that's a story for another time).

I’m going headlong in some projects, a multimedia art exhibition…memoir? I’ll let you know what I will call it once it is formed into its whole beautiful self.

I have been keeping up with my newsletter for creatives and catching up on my Vocal reading. What I didn’t expect was the reception I got when I came back…

The reception I have gotten is mind-blowing.

By Helena Lopes on Unsplash

I must admit, as a sceptic, I didn’t expect much. I expected maybe a few hellos, but surely not the reception that I have received thus far.

There has been amazing support across Vocal, over at my newsletter, and in a couple of other writing groups I am in. I must say I am just speechless.

Speechless

It’s small beginnings, but I am learning never ever to despise such beginnings.

The Wise and Wonderful Writer

I had a very wise and wonderful writing expert tell me to stop talking about my aspirations as if they were far off and instead talk about them as if they are here right now. My mindset has started to shift in that direction, and I am so glad I have. I have found more richness in community, in my writing, in being inspired and in inspiring others.

I cannot emphasise enough how much I love and hope to inspire other creatives like myself who have struggled.

When I first started writing and experimenting with writing platforms like Vocal, I had just come out of a creative desert. A very long and gruelling one. As a creative who loves to tell stories and create things, it felt like a piece of my heart turned off and ran out of power.

By Majid Ghahravi Zade on Unsplash

I’m sure many of you can relate to this. Creative slumps are no joke!

Community is vital, and I knew that in order to really get out of the desert, I needed to find it. I needed to put myself out there no matter how cringy and gross it might look from the start.

It’s very humbling to put your work out there when you have a creative writing background from University. I realised that a degree means absolutely nothing, and expertise means absolutely nothing if you don’t have community.

Honestly, what is the point? I’m sure there will be a finger held up following “Umm, Actually…” but stick to my guns.

Being in a slump for so long, my writing took a big hit, and it felt like I was learning the art and craft of storytelling all over again. I Google whizzed the hell out of storytelling techniques, free webinars, courses, etc. etc.

I am grateful for the friends who helped me out of the panic, reminding me that some of my skill just needs some dusting off, and I really have much more room to grow, but that excites me now…

It didn’t used to…

Trust me. It used to fill me with dread....room to grow = never good enough. So I thought.

I wanted to drop a masterpiece in one go and become a legend right away. (Not really, but you get the point...I hope). I felt out of place with some of my friends who were also creative writing majors - their lingo and the way they carried themselves with so much pomp (no judgment casting, but truly how it can be) I couldn’t relate to. Maybe I never did?

Risk

By Kid Circus on Unsplash

And was I crazy?

Putting my writing out there on the internet, like that? The internet that runs rife with cyberbullying and the harshness of others? People can be vile and hold nothing back, given they are behind the safety of their screens.

I took a risk, and now I am here after my hiatus, which I won’t bore you about any longer. I am here and back, and I am so glad to be.

I am probably sounding like a broken record here. So let me just say it again. I am so glad to be back!

When I wrote Writing is a Gift, I had no idea the warmth I would receive from my fellow writers. I had no idea the potential I could have again. I have been so encouraged and feel like I can really grow back into my armour with the write exercises (pun intended).

All that to say. Thank you is not good enough but at the moment it’s all I got!

Shamelessly, I invite you, dear creatives, if you are in a slump or just need an extra push into your oasis of stories, paintings, drawings, photography, etc., consider subscribing to my weekly newsletter for creatives!

You guys are absoltuue legends! Keep on making amazing stuff!

What I have LOVED this week

This makes me want to visit!

Consider also subscribing to my Vocal to catch up on my fiction, poems, journal posts and more!

LifeWriting ExerciseWriter's BlockShoutoutInspirationCommunity
1

About the Creator

E.Amalia

Hola! I'm E.Amalia. I've got a penchant for the macabre, weird, and spine chilling genres. Also I write poetry, also I'm a dragon for books.

Drop a ❤️

Subscribe 🖤

Comment 💙

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.