Writers logo

Writer's Fever

It might be contagious

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 2 months ago 4 min read
12
Writer's Fever
Photo by VD Photography on Unsplash

“Do you think he’s up there?” Mendel mutters, giving my hand a nervous squeeze.

 

Turning to meet his uncertain gaze, I give him a soft smile and say, “I have no doubt.”

 

    The End

 

A long sigh escapes my lips as I am met with the ears ringing silence of the absence of the clicking of my keyboard. I lean back in my chair and am admiring the final two words of my work. The End. A soft smile crosses my lips and I finally feel at peace, having finished my first novel.

Suddenly I am awash in exhaustion, having been stuck in front of my laptop for longer than I can honestly admit. The adrenaline rush I’d felt earlier subsides and I sit in the glow of my screen as fatigue sets in.

With a loud yawn, I rise to my feet and make my way to bed, navigating the dark halls of my home until I find the room filled with the thunderous snores of my partner. I throw myself onto the bed alongside them, not even bothering to change into my pyjamas.

 

“You finish it?” He grumbles at me through a groggy voice and slings his arm across my midsection. He pulls me in for a sleepy congratulatory hug and simultaneously lowers my blood pressure.

 

“Yes.” I sigh and my heavy eyelids finally close for the first time in who knows how long.

I am relieved as I fall into a blissful dreamless sleep, finally getting the rest I need. But this is short-lived as I am presented with images and flashes of various scenes.

My heart races and adrenaline pumps through my body with excitement, once more. I see an entire scene play out before my eyes and suddenly I am sitting upright in bed, wide awake. I swing my legs out and scurry down the hall, eager to start my next adventure.

 

“I thought you said you were done.” My partner calls in a half-asleep voice, from the comfort of our bed.

 

“It is,” I answer, focusing hard on the images in my mind before they vanish forever.

 

“Then come back to bed,” He calls after me.

 

“I just need to write something down,” I reply and slide into my still-warm office chair.

I start up my laptop and open a new document and begin feverishly typing the contents of my mind. Every shred of the dream I can remember the details of the plot, character descriptions and anything else I can think of.

 

Minutes later, another sigh of exhaustion escapes my lips as I lean back in my chair and stare at the three-page document before me. Scanning all information I dumped from my now empty shell of a brain. I feel completely drained and my eyelids are heavy with exhaustion. Now I can finally talk myself into going back to bed.

I shuffle my way back into the bedroom and cocoon myself in the warm covers, ready to welcome sleep once more. But as I lay there, my mind is working on my next story.

I can’t stop thinking about all of the characters, the locations of the story, the plot twists and the adventure I’m about to bring to life. A flutter of excitement runs through me and my fatigue fades away with every passing second.

I felt like my mind was buzzing with all the possibilities, and then my worst fear creeps into the back of my mind. The worry that I will forget all these details by morning. My blood runs cold at the thought and I tried to assure myself that I wouldn’t forget, but there was no conviction in it. So I lay in bed watching as a soft light spreads along the dark ceiling of my bedroom as it peeks through the curtains.

It’s almost morning and I’ve blown my chance at having a good night’s sleep before my next day of writing. I’m just wasting my time and creative energy lying in bed fighting with myself. The best thing I can do is get an early start on my next project.

With an excited smile, I roll out of bed and head to the office. Ready to put in another day’s work at my writing desk.

 

Author’s Note:

I am one of those people who gets all my best ideas either in my dreams or right when I am about to settle in for bed. Now, I’ve made a rule for myself that I can’t work on anything after a certain time. However, I still will wake up and write brief notes on my phone. But that’s not necessarily the madness I am alluding to here.

My problem is that once I finish something, no matter what the length of it, I get this adrenaline rush and a high that follows. I will then drive myself crazy until I can find the next project or until I can start working on it. It’s this manic sort of phase that I enter which my husband has coined the phrase Writer’s Fever.

The ironic thing about this story was I definitely got Writer’s Fever the second I started working on this piece. I couldn’t willingly put the laptop away until I finished the first draft. Which meant that my husband had to hide Mac-royal (my laptop) for a while because I had real life things that needed my attention.

 

Also, for those interested, the story at the beginning came from the last lines of my book, Jogger’s Trail. I published it on Amazon in September. Here is a link for those interested: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CJ43R5DS

 

Thanks for reading,

Donna Fox (HKB)

PublishingProcessInspiration
12

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧2 months ago

    :) Like you, my best ideas emerge when I am either asleep or lying in bed. I have learned to record a voice memo as soon as I can, before I forget. I can usually talk faster at that late hour than I can type, so it works for me. I reduce my memo to a typed document the following morning. Madness? Absolutely! But I know from painful experience that if I do not immediately make some record, I will forget half or all of it by morning (or sooner). Good to know I am not alone in this madness! I have ordered my copy of Jogger's Trail. It should be here Monday! Yay!

  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    I really liked Jogger's Trail! It was a super fun story, Donna and this was a fantastic description of how all-consuming stories are in the mind of a writer! Similar things have happened to me, dragging one's self out of a dead sleep, or a half-dream to hastily scribble down the ideas that are destroying our ability to rest. It's an awesome feeling!

  • The joggers trail were great stories. Writing is addictive people who don’t write don’t understand we’d spend all day all night just writing if we could

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    I am in this picture and I don't like it! 😁😁😁😁

  • Awww, Mendel talking about Nakos! I miss Madra, Tesha and Alaric too! Oh how I miss Alaric! I'm getting butterflies just talking about him 🙈🙈😍😍 Hehehehehehehehehehehehehehe You know what, if I was Alex, I'd make you get your own room! Hahahahahahhahaha. I mean, I just value my sleep too much. I cannot have you hop in and out of bed multiple times and disrupt my sleep 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Also, I'm thinking, this Writer's Fever, is it normal? It seems a tad like a manic episode to me. I mean, not the part where you get ideas, but the part where you feel you have to start on a new once you finish your current project. Speaking of ideas, I get them as I'm on the verge of falling asleep, while driving and while showering. The ideas while falling asleep, I always forget the next day. So I started jotting them down in my phone so that I don't forget it. But the next day, I have no idea what I wrote! Here's an example of what I wrote in my phone notes: Mkm faughter fakk diwn and die stikk dinr wanna talk And as I mentioned earlier, I value my sleep way too much so I'm not gonna get on my laptop at type 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 My stories The Planned Pregnancy came to me while I was driving. Phantom of the Lake and Broken Beyond Repair came to me on the verge of falling asleep but by some miracle, I remembered it enough to make a story out of it hahahahahahahha. I can't recall which story of mine specifically came to me during shower though. So yea, I feel all of us would be able to relate to this Writer's Fever to some degree!

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    This is so relatable!! I get writing/brainstorming ideas falling asleep, driving and especially in the shower! Then I have to try to repeat them over and over until I can write them down. I guarantee 80% are lost, lol. Loved this :)

  • Thavien Yliaster2 months ago

    Ouch! You're not allowed to get my emotions like that in the first sentence! I haven't even begun. I need a break. Time to cook some groceries.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    Oh, stay out of my head, please! Love this!

  • Mark Gagnon2 months ago

    It's tuff to shift the mind into neutral when there are so many stories out there to be told.

  • JBaz2 months ago

    And this is why I have a note pad on my night stand. Although in all fairness half the time I cannot read my writing or I have no idea what my mind was thinking. I do have fun trying to figure it out.

  • ema2 months ago

    I understand you, I think it's the happiness of having accomplished something that gives that adrenaline rush. For me the beginning is very difficult, for example when I start writing again after some time, but then you get into the flow and it's difficult to get out of it, but it's also a blessing, because you have to take advantage of the moment as long as we are inspired and have the right push, of course the real world and other people at a certain point require our presence 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.