Writers logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Which Community Should I Write In?

We Have Forty-Four Vocal Communities To Choose From

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
11
The Current Vocal Communities

Introduction

We have forty-four communities on Vocal and I have posted at least one story in every one. These are some of my previous observations on Vocal Communities:

This is an interesting take by Paul Shablo

What Do I Think Of The State Of The Communities?

Personally, I think there are far too many Vocal Communities, and often people are unsure where they should post things, sometimes I am not sure myself.

The most popular are Fiction and Poetry, Poetry attracts so many entries, possibly because a poem can be very short and, therefore quickly dashed off. I do remember Neil Diamond saying it took him eight weeks to finalize the phrase "I Am... I Said" so even a short poem may take a lot of effort to create.

I have said this before but Cleats and Unbalanced should be merged, with tags for particular sports. Cleats has not had a Top Story for nine months.

Potent is similar to Cleats, no Top Story for a year, and surely this could be merged with Proof with tags added. Then Chain and Trader are two more that could be merged as they cover similar areas.

While I like to create fictional stories and poetry, I am not considered as even adequate in those areas by Vocal so that is why I look to other areas, but has been pointed out, that I do not stick to the acceptable middle-of-the-road creations, I will not be considered for any recognition by the cliques.

This won't stop me from writing and creating stories but I won't change my style to try and get a Top Story.

I believe my writing is continually evolving and improving and that may be why I am no longer considered for a Top Story. I know my work is excellent because of how I see it, and the reactions I get from my audience. I am sometimes shocked at the excellent loving reactions I see like these (and yes oval should have been Vocal):

oval should have been Vocal
Lovely compliments

So although I am in the Vocal naughty corner, I will continue to share my views, stories, and poetry with you and hopefully put a smile on your face and give you a few ideas as well.

The music is "Community Of Hope" by Polly Jean Harvey as I have been talking Vocal Community.

Thnak you for reading.

ShoutoutVocalProcessCONTENT WARNINGCommunityAdvice
11

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    "They're gonna put a Walmart here...." Is that a sign of hope or its opposite? I know communities where either could be considered true anymore.

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    I agree with you! It’s hard at times to figure out which community to put a story in!

  • Yes, I too feel all those communities could be merged with adding more tags to them! It's just so weird!

  • Sandra Matos3 months ago

    Thank you for this information! I feel a bit dumb about all of this stuff. Like, I didn't know that people got annoyed if you post in certain communities. Eeek!

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    I enjoyed! All the categories are interesting!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.