Writers logo

When Writers Support Writers

How Writers Came Together to Support Chelsea Banning on Twitter

By Judey Kalchik Published 9 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - August 2023
48
https://pixabay.com/users/mysticsartdesign-322497/

It’s their first booksigning as a new author. They did everything exactly as they should to prepare, including sending out invitations. 40 people said they’d be there. 2 showed up.

Author Chelsea Banning wrote a tweet expressing the disappointment and embarrassment she felt, especially as it happened at her local bookstore.

And then the magic of small individual kindnesses happened. And her life changed.

Authors such as Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Jodi Picoult, Margaret E. Atwood, Min Jin Lee, Robin Hobb, and so many other: all let her know that she wasn’t alone.

They had been there. They said:

Join the club.

Two people breaks some of our records for success.

Recognizing her place in the writing community. And suddenly, unexpectedly, joyously: her story started to spread. And it just keeps going.

She has been on the Kelly Clarkson show.

Her Tweet became a meme on reddit:

shared with permission

She has sold through all of the signed copies of her book. Readers are posting reviews (great reviews, too!). She's shopping her second book.

The small community bookstore where she waited vainly for customers joined Twitter. They are now using it to promote Chelsea... and other authors. Publishers have noticed and are sending their A list authors' books to the store to promote interest and a buzz.

Chelsea is using the momentum to share the works of other writers on her suddenly popular Twitter thread. Paying it forward.

And suddenly more people are talking about books. Shared struggles. Tenacity. Grace.

Because of small moments of kindness.

Because authors reaching out to help someone in need, someone feel alone and defeated. One at a time. Changing lives.

You can follow Chelsea Banning on Twitter. (now better {?} known as X) She is also on Threads.

What About Us?

  • You can, we can; support writers here on Vocal by reading, leaving a heart, commenting on their work about their work, and sharing the stories that resonate with you.
  • You can join the Vocal Discord channel and interact there. Ask and answer questions. Leave funny emojis.
  • On alternate weeks you can join the Raise Your Voice chat at noon EST and promote some of the authors and stories that you'd like to give a lift.
  • You might even create a compilation of links, along with a brief intro about why you chose them, and share those stories in your own post. I've linked some below that I've found, and enjoy finding new recommendations from creators I trust.

We create, we write, we dream independently. But independent doesn't need to mean 'alone'. We can be there for each other, too.

Some Indexed Posts of the Work of Other Authors

I couldn't show examples of authors promoting other authors without including Mike! Here's his latest:

Kayleigh suggests and elevates poetry:

Paul is on his 7th compilation, which he calls Deep Cuts. (I think he has an eye-catching way about his images!)

Naomi made hers into a Vocal Playlist:

Mackenzie just completed her 3rd list:

Please leave me a comment: has another person, another Vocal creator, a friend- has someone reached out and elevated your efforts? We'd love to celebrate that with you!

ShoutoutInspirationCommunityAdviceAchievements
48

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)9 months ago

    Amazing and Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    We are all on the same ark, just waiting for the waters to recede to see where we have ended up... Thank you for this one!

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    I loved this story! Months ago I met another at my local bookstore doing a signing and I bought one of his books since it is important to support his dreams (I didn't like it but that's no matter, I did my part). Writers supporting writers is fantastic! And it's the single biggest reason why I absolutely love this platform we call home! I want to shout out R. Agneli for being an amazing writer and a fantastic supporter! Everyone should read everything there https://vocal.media/authors/r-angeli

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This is great Judey! Writers supporting writers is so important. Congrats on Top Story.

  • Missclicked9 months ago

    On a real note everyone that i have met literally everyone that i have interacted with has been so sweet to me as a newbie writer❤️. I was afraid of my writings and i thought people won't like it but there are people who have supported me through all my 13 stories till now. I have huge admiration and love for every vocal writer/reader that exists on this platform❤️.. I think i said too much😅 congratulations on top story💐

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    This is a great article, thank you.

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    I remember that tweet and the support afterward! I am so glad she got support! Brilliant! Thank you for the recommendation articles! I am looking to expand my reading list!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Marvelous story!!! Sharing the love!!! Congratulations on Top Story, Judey!!❤️❤️💕

  • Atomic Historian9 months ago

    I remember seeing that tweet the day of. Had no idea she started here

  • Mark Graham9 months ago

    Writers in whatever they write all need a little help out there getting noticed in some way. Good work.

  • E.Amalia9 months ago

    I love how Chelsea was surrounded by so many wonderful writers. Her story got me tearing up! Congrats on your Top Story! Also, love how you don't just talk the talk but you walk the walk as well. Thank you for supporting other writers and being so passionate about it, it's truly inspiring.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Well now, congrats on a rather awesome Top Story! Judey you peach!

  • Thank you Judey... This was totally inspiring!!!

  • I hadn’t heard this story and really enjoyed it ❤️ It’s such an important reminder for all of us creators ✨ And thank so much for including my piece at the end! This was an unexpected surprise 🤍 I’m about to read a couple of the others that I haven’t read/ noticed yet too, great suggestions!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I read that thread the other day, it was heart-warming. Many of us are rarely supported when we release a book, so it's encouraging to see good news like that for a change.

  • Thank you, Judey, for some more wonderful encouragement for all of us.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Judey, how can I actively hate people when you are presenting me with all this wholesomeness!! Joking aside, thank you for sharing the Twitter story and your own positive encouragement. My favourite line was "indpendant doen't have to mean alone' So true! We can help each other flourish while doing our best work! Also, thank you for including me in the shout-outs! As I am not on SM at the mo or Discord, Vocal Deep Cuts is my way of sharing others' work!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Wow, just when I thought Twitter was nothing but a nasty cesspool… it’s nice to be pleasantly surprised by happy stories. Also thanks for including me in this warm fuzziness. 🥰

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    I love that you did this! It’s like inception, a compilation of compilations! And thank you for that shout out; I really appreciate it. Folks with more subscribers than me promoting that series is what I need, lol! Also, I adore that writers rallied to support Chelsea; a completely wholesome thing to do. Sometimes the internet is a nice place to be…😊💕

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    Love, love, love 💖 I do need to be better about sharing more pieces by other creators. I kind of fell off attending the Raise Your Voice thing. Thank you for sharing, Judey!

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I try to make sure I share the love and comments as often as possible. I want people to feel as good as I do when I comment and like their work 😁 this was a great read Judey!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Thanks for continuing to support this community, Judey! If we can follow examples like this one, there's unlimited potential here on Vocal.

  • I love that so many people, including you Judey, are making a point of helping spread the word about so many great creators. It gives all of the motivation to keep going, even when we are going through tough times. Thank you!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is excellent. I saw Chelsea's story on Twitter, and I'm so happy for her. As for us, we have such a great group of supporters here. Kudos to all those doing the shout outs. They're wonderful.

  • Excellent article Judey. It is great to support others. Thank you for the links you shared and for the shout out as well, that I really appreciated

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.