Writers logo

What Editfest taught me about writing for Vocal challenges

Filmsupply's Editfest, while a fun creative exercise outside of writing, ended up teaching me a lot about writing.

By Ryan SmithPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2023
15
What Editfest taught me about writing for Vocal challenges
Photo by Wahid Khene on Unsplash

I love writing, but as a videographer, my job is creative in a different way. I'm grateful to make a living as a storyteller across mediums, and while I have used one to promote the other, I hadn't consciously considered how those two realms could influence or inform the other in terms of the hardest part of the creative process: Solidifying a story idea, the mental battlefield as a Vocal writer. With Vocal challenges especially, I have been guilty of spending a lot of time in the starting blocks, obsessing over the minute details. And then Editfest came along.

Run annually by Filmsupply, a cinematic stock footage site, Editfest invites video editors to construct a fictional movie trailer, opening title sequence or product advertisement from their footage and other materials provided by sponsors.

Much like the Vocal challenges, I looked at Editfest as a opportunity to express myself with the chance at a reward. Unlike the Vocal challenges, however, there were no prompts, genres or guidelines, only open road. I became utterly overwhelmed.

Being given the opportunity to use any of the thousands of shots made it seem impossible to create something tangible. I wandered aimlessly, scrolling through random scenes and collections. How was I supposed to put together a 60 second story with a multitude of possibilities? Several ideas clambered over each other for my attention, only for me to reach a dead end or abandon them for one reason or another. It was like trying to put together a jigsaw puzzle without the picture on the box, and the pieces could fit together thousands of different ways.

Then, I saw it. Almost inconspicious, sitting amongst sweeping cinematic shots: a computer screen with two letters on it. AI. The questions piled up on themselves before I could begin to answer. Cliche? How many other people would tackle this? Is there a better idea? An easier one? And on and on.

To shut them up, I said, That's it. No second guessing, no pacing back and forth, or pounding my head against the proverbial wall. Just, what's the story? How can I tell it in a different way?

For the majority of my entries to Vocal challenges, I played chess, pitting one idea against another to see who won. It was an exhausting game of attrition. Creating a story for Editfest was just a visual representation of my monkey mind.

Simply by silencing the overwhelm, I trusted my choice and didn’t second guess, which I tend to do with the Vocal challenges. I overthink and most likely strangle my creativity rather than let it breathe. That's not to say I didnt go through the same creative rollercoaster with this project as with writing (this is awesome/I'm awesome/This is awful/I'm awful), but it was easier to weather because I was committed regardless. It was a good lesson in jumping and not looking back. I’ll be taking what I learned through Editfest and applying it here.

Sometimes, as you well know, lightning strikes and you see no other story. This lesson in trust will benefit me for those other times, when I want to enter a Vocal challenge without a story in mind and think, What the heck am I going to do?

Shameless plug: here is the link to my Editfest entry. It's a 70's sci-fi approach. I would love your vote for the People’s Choice Award)!

I'm curious about your process. Do you trust your first idea and follow it into battle, or entertain several ideas and evaluate them? What must an idea do for you to trust it? Is it technical or emotional?

Process
15

About the Creator

Ryan Smith

I'm a good dad, a decent writer, and a terrible singer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • A TECH7 months ago

    Great article and insights. My process: 1. Lightning Idea written in moleskin where it lives or dies over time, many are still caged hoping to survive. 2. I research and compile notes and play it out in my head visualizing it. 3. I sketch the story writing freestyle. Does it work? Is it credible? Do I still like my characters enough to invest further into the real wor

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Great article and insights. My process: 1. Lightning Idea written in moleskin where it lives or dies over time, many are still caged hoping to survive. 2. I research and compile notes and play it out in my head visualizing it. 3. I sketch the story writing freestyle. Does it work? Is it credible? Do I still like my characters enough to invest further into the real work. Editing. 4. Rewrite - edit.

  • Caroline Jane7 months ago

    I shall vote for you. Ideas come like lumps of clay and I often feel like a potter. Sometimes I wrestle with the lump and sometimes it spirals into something. I never quite know when I chuck myself at something how it will turn out. I have to work with it before it fully reveals itself. Congratulations on the top story. Really interesting and thought provoking. ❤

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Congrats on top story! Great work!

  • Nice Article and Congratulations on your Top Story♥️💯📝👍

  • Lucy Smith7 months ago

    Congratulations on reaching Top story status. Well deserved.

  • Lucy Smith7 months ago

    You explained a great deal in few words - great job! Hope you win! Love Dad

  • Christine Meush7 months ago

    Congrats on top story! 🎉 As for my process, I tend to very quickly get attached to an initial idea, whether it was inspired by a prompt or not. Sometimes it's to my detriment as I will fall far, far down the rabbit hole of the idea trying to develop it before discovering if it actually works or not. Sometimes it's a yes, other times it's a no haha

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Test7 months ago

    Congratulations on achieving top story status!

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Thanks for the introduction to Editfest. You entry is striking and well worth the vote I will continue to submit for it. Regarding your question about my process: Ideas come, sometimes from prompts, but just as often from nowhere. I build on them in my head until one sounds worth writing. Occasionally I'll have an ending in mind when I start to write, but more often than not, the story takes on a life of its own after the first few lines.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Wonderful article. I voted for your entry, which was great, and a little scary. As for my writing process, when it comes to fiction, I typically get several ideas for stories, but as the days roll on most don't get past the original idea. I go with those that build themselves in my mind, if that makes sense.

  • Ward Norcutt7 months ago

    Thanks for the story. wonderful to drea your work again. LOVED the trailer and voted and will do so once every day.... I pretty much trust my instincts; ideas come - sometimes quickly, sometimes not, but when they do, I run with them as i am able. I always trust the muse. sometimes, within a piece I might have a stoppage or at the ending think, how in God's name do I finish this? almost all of the time an answer appears. I rarely force my will upon it.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Wasn't aware off Edifest!!! Love your story!!!💕❤️❤️ Sometimes an idea like a seed grows. Then there are times it doesn't germinate. Would live to see your trailer that you created!!!

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    That's exciting! I voted for you! I've never heard of Editfest but now I'm intrigued and will be going back shortly to check out more trailers. I myself don't always trust my first instincts when deciding to tackle an idea. It's not until I fall in love with it that I give it my undivided attention. This is when I know I'll work it through to completion. Not every idea will be a winner but the ones that speak to us are begging to be written. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and introducing us to Editfest! Best of luck in the competition.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.