Writers logo

WATTPAD

Why the hate to Wattpad

By FahhanPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
2
WATTPAD
Photo by Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash

This is not a writing but rather just my thoughts on a writing platform. I don't know if you have used Wattpad, but there was a time when it was the IT app, but right now, it gets a lot of negativities from readers all over.

I am not judging anyone, writing is hard, so obviously writing in Wattpad is also hard but there is no age limit to writing in Wattpad so a lot of young people starts writing and they may or may not get reads but there is a chance for growth. Also one another feature is because it's a free app, at least it used to be before the annoying ads that comes after every chapter.

I feel today there are so many people who judges a book by calling it a 'Wattpad story' (They mean it a negative way). This has been due to lots of youtubers, bookstagram, booktok all started bashing on Wattpad due to its cringy stories. As mentioned earlier, the stories are not of high quality since it's a free platform and the writers just write what they want to (just like here I guess) but it doesn't give one the authority to bash somebody else's work.

As I have heard from a video, writing is a solitary work and all those who do it, are reaaly brave to do what they do. Also judging a person for reading a specific type of genre or writing is also hypocritical.

I just want to end this rant by saying that I used to be proud Wattpad reader, and I am also a proud Wattpad reader now. Yes, I have tried wiritng a story in wattpad and its reaaly hard. So, I appreciate all the authors who had completed any stories be it fan fiction or any others. I do feel there are lots of low read unrecognized books and authors in Wattpad that required our attention, but although I would love to support them all, at the end of the day nobody can reads those many books and sadly the stories with the greatest number of reads gets top of the chain again.

Writing ExerciseWriter's BlockResourcesPublishingPromptsProcessLifeInterviewsCommunityAdviceAchievements
2

About the Creator

Fahhan

17.09.2023

This day will always be special to me, maybe it's because I joined vocal on this day or maybe because I gave light to something that was dark for too long.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    I do have a few children's books that I wrote on Wattpad, and as you said I agree. If I remember I only had very few reads.

  • Luther8 months ago

    Nice work great writing ❤️❤️ I’m new here so I’ve just dropped a few 😮‍💨

  • Test8 months ago

    TBH I didn'tknow waht this platform was until a month or so ago. so no judgement here! Bashing peopl's hard work is cruel - If it allows young people to gain a voice and practice their skills then that sounds like a positve tthing to me! Interesting insights -thanks 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.