Writers logo

The Writing Circle

Reclaiming creativity

By Hannah MoorePublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - August 2023
26

It seems we are called, of late, to self-reflection. The Vocal challenges on offer at present have created, for me, a kind of momentum. A natural progression perhaps, from reflecting on the work of others, through the impact of others’ work on our own lives, into consideration of what drives us to create our own work, and how that evolves. We each have our own reasons for being here, sharing pieces of ourselves. And I think mine become clear as I reflect on my writing journey.

I am here, largely, for the challenges. And I will tell you why. I am busy. I go to work, I look after my kids, whose neurodiversity brings extra challenges on top of the energy depleting work of parenthood. I try to move my body enough, but it is not enough. I try to keep my home sanitary, sometimes barely. I try to do all the things, including keeping my own head above water, though sometimes I dip under. I am busy, and I am stressed. I recognised, a wee while ago, that in all of this, my creative outlets were minimal, and that self-care might look like stirring up that stagnating pool and picking up a pen again. Metaphorically.

I failed.

I failed repeatedly. Despite good intentions, despite high hopes, despite, even, new stationary. And then I stumbled across Vocal. I don’t recall quite how I stumbled across Vocal, but the stumbling proved fortuitous for me. Because here were regular challenges – scaffolding, with deadlines. Prompts to get me started, and a glorious variety to keep me challenged and trying something new. And a community of people I would never have to face over coffee after showing them my poetry.

And I started to write. And this is meaningful to me why? Everyone here knows why, though the why might vary. That’s what we have in common, that the why is there at all. For me, I started to reclaim something that was mine when I was fewer things, to fewer people, and thus more wholly my own.

I started writing before my first decade was out. My early works were, if I say so myself, unlikely masterpieces from the pen of a young child. This is largely because they were works of staggering plagiarism. I re-wrote, with gusto, The Hobbit, Watership Down, and a series of books about a girl and her horse I do not even recall the title of. Immersed in the writing, I was aware that I had perhaps been inspired by other writers before me, but it was only on reading back that I was able to recognise that changing the proper nouns in a piece was not sufficient to claim originality. Never the less, I kept writing, and I improved. I attribute that improvement entirely to the fact that I also kept reading, but learnt the difference between inspiration and imitation.

The first piece, then, that I remember writing, that was markedly, assuredly, my own, I remember because it won a challenge. Not here, obviously. No one had the internet back then. It was early 1991, and my school ran a writing competition, and I won it. And I won it after being called into the headmistresses office and accused of cheating. I won it after my parents had been called, to assure the school they had not helped me (and they had not helped me). I won it fair and square, and possibly only because I used the word “opalescent”. This, according to the headmistress, is an advanced word for a child just turned 13.

I recall writing the piece, sat at a fold out table, lamplit against the dark fourth floor window, in the one room all four of us, my mum, dad, brother and I, were sharing. Foam mattresses filled the floor at my feet, and London’s lights dotted the dark beyond. We had recently moved back to the UK, I had recently started my 11th school, as well as my periods, and I was not, as you may imagine, entirely thriving socially. My piece was not a story at all. It was an emotional outpouring. It was a tale of literal escape, a fleeing through the changing landscape. The beginning was that I began, the middle was that I ran, and the end was that I ended. Nothing else happened. Except for me, this had been an exercise in doing on the page what I needed to, and could not, do in real life. My physical body had sat still, but my heart had raced with my pen, and with each imagined step I had laid my jumbled cacophony of feelings out along a track that I was tracing on paper. Not only that, but in situating my flight in the natural world, I had lent the acceptance of the indifferent landscape to my feelings, and had framed them in beauty. I felt better for it. Exorcised. Able, afterwards, to step back, the observing self, and recognise the storm without being buffeted by it so much.

I went on writing through my teens. It was useful to me, yes, but it also became a source of gratification. Humans seem to share a drive to express. We paint and sculpt, we move and make music, and we develop language. Then we make drawn symbols to represent the vocal symbols that weren’t enough. We yearn to express. Perhaps driven by an ever-present consciousness of our own aloneness, we are frantic and perpetual in offering some piece of ourselves to someone else, in taking in the pieces offered by others. As I passed through adolescence, my writing changed. It became less a vehicle for exorcism and more a means of experimentation. That observing self became less absorbed with how things do feel, and more concerned with how things might feel. And then, “how might I respond in that circumstance” started to become “how might someone else, with these other experiences, respond in that circumstance?” Inevitably, though, those pieces of me were infused through every piece. We are magnificent in our capacity to imagine the world through the lens of another life. But that imagining is always filtered through our own lives.

When I was 17, I wrote a piece through the lens of a character in a book we were studying at school. It was a homework task, but I will not exclude it from this account on that basis - I have, it seems, always valued boundaries to play within. I wrote my piece, on paper, as was still the norm, and on the day of handing it in, I was horrified to hear our teacher say that she would pick some of us to read our work. I avoided her gaze like the shrinking violet I have bloomed into, but her gaze fell on me nonetheless. Head bowed, cheeks crimson, I read my piece, a first person perspective tale of a woman staring down the barrel of a gun, clutching her young child to her. At the end of my reading, I looked up and my world pivoted. The room was arranged with desks in a squared ring, and so, at every angle all about me, I saw faces, turned towards me, fixed on mine, in absolute silence. I might even have found use for the word agape here. I had, by evoking with my words an experience with sufficient emotional intensity, silenced a room full of 17 year olds. It was mortifying. And one of the greatest heartbeat moments of my life.

It passed, of course, and at 18, I largely stopped writing. I grew up, just as Peter Pan feared. And yet, here I am again, reclaiming my creativity, offering up a piece of me.

ChallengeProcess
26

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Craven7 months ago

    I’m glad you found your way back to writing. Would have been a terrible waste otherwise.

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    Wow I’ve just rabbit holed into this gem! I’m so glad I did. It completely resonated with me. And I’m also glad that ‘here (you are) again’ 😍

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    I’m so happy that you found your way here and are finding that part of yourself again!! ❤️ it’s so hard to find time to find ourselves again in parenthood. This was lovely!

  • Congratulations......

  • Test9 months ago

    I'm so glad you're here, reclaiming your creativity, Hannah. You are a brilliant writer! Thank you for sharing these pieces of your life. x

  • Bri Craig9 months ago

    Yes- so happy you have been able to reclaim your creativity!!!!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Beautiful story & beautifully written!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Thank you for sharing your journey with us. A great piece of writing

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    writing is one way to find and use your voice. Brava for the song you sing through your words and determination!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Back to say congrats on your Top Story! 🥂

  • Ian Read9 months ago

    I, too, had a few teachers like that. I am glad we both survived them. Like you, I am rediscovering my love of writing and how this platform -and the community within it- has been facilitating that. I am glad you're here with us! ;)

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    We all seemed to have found this platform by chance. Do you think destiny pointed the way? It knew that people needed a home to write. Bless the one who created it, though we are such unruly children, sometimes so bad behaved, all of us. Great seeing you grow up and meeting in this place.

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    So glad to have you back among us writers Hannah! This is a lovely little account of growing up as a creative person. Thank you for writing it! I saw so many little pieces of little me in this! That description of escaping through the writing was WONDERFUL!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Welcome back to writing! 🙌🏼 This was so relatable, and truly well written.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Oh, how inspiring this is! I've been in a slump lately, so this was a such a treat to read, filling my heart with the desire to write something epic, something drawn from my inner being, rather than fulfilling a pseudo-obligatory prompt. For me, the challenges can be nice structure, but often I find that I rush them too much and they become a burden. I'm so glad they fit into your world better than they have in mine; we're all different. And I adore how you wrote this piece. Reflecting on our early writing and what it means to us now is a fruitful exercise, it seems, and quite the burst of inspiration for those who read it. How incredible it must have been to see the expressions on those 17-year old faces after reading your piece. I wish I could have been there! Also, let me just say how much I love that you started to write by copying masterpieces. To learn by doing, to learn the nuance of copying versus originality. I did not do that, but reading your account, I wish I had; it seems the way to go, as you get into the mindset of the author and navigate what your own could be, until you have your own brand. It's the best kind of introspection. I might do a master copy one of these days, just for inspiration. I'm so glad you're here, Hannah, to share your amazing writing and be a part of this community. Thank you for sharing this. ❤️👏🏻

  • I really enjoyed this, Hannah. Thank you for sharing 🙏☺️❤️

  • ema9 months ago

    I really like your article. Often writing is a hobby that gets left behind among the many things to do in "real life". Challenges and contests are a great way to test ourselves, but also to feel part of a community. Certainly recognition, even if small, is a great motivational boost!

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Top Story in 3...2...1...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.