Writers logo

The Mindset That Changed How I Write

Remember your reason why

By Elise L. BlakePublished 17 days ago 3 min read
2
The Mindset That Changed How I Write
Photo by James Hammond on Unsplash

If you ask 100 writers about their approach to writing, you're going to get 100 different answers.

There is no right way to write, but there is a right way to think about writing.

If you've been following me for a while you may or may not have noticed that I disappeared from article writing as well as all of my social media pages for several months. At that time I started a novel, got halfway, and stopped writing, then I started another one and shelved that one indefinitely as well - I was just tired.

I didn't see a reason to continue to throw words on a page that were only read by me and my partner when he checked his emails in the bathroom.

I felt drained and my mindset when it came to writing wasn't a good one, each day that I sat in front of the computer to write had become a chore without the benefit of a clean home in the end.

Just before the start of this year (2024) I knew something had to be done about my mindset when it came to writing if I wanted there to be any chance for me to come back to it without the habit of starting only to stop.

My New Mindset

The moment I began thinking of writing as a chore was the day I doomed myself to fail.

I had begun to think about what I had to do and not why I was doing it.

With the daily stresses of life sometimes it's easy to lose sight of why we write, but in rediscovering this purpose we can shift our mindsets when it comes to writing to make huge differences in not only our writing but our lives as well.

I write not only to help other writers and authors learn more about the day-to-day of writing a novel but also to teach myself. If there's a topic I am going to write about I make sure to research it first so I can share what I know and what I have learned as accurately as possible.

This is not only to improve your storytelling skills but mine as well.

I write to:

  • Inspire and empower
  • To create connections with fellow writers and authors
  • To preserve the stories and memories that live in my head

- - - - - - - -

 Whatever reasons you have for writing, write them down and tack them somewhere you can see for those days when you need the reminder of why you write. 

I hope your reasons remind you of why your stories are needed and why they are worth every day that you spend on them. 

Best of luck. 

With love, 

B.K xo xo

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

This story was originally posted on Medium.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1! Your support keeps my creativity brewing! ☕

Thank you for your support and happy writing!

Instagram | TikTok | Twitter | Threads | Youtube | Facebook | Twitch

InspirationGuidesAdvice
2

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham16 days ago

    You gave me a lot to think about.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.