Writers logo

The Graveyard Challenge Finalists

The results are in, let the voting commence!! Voting ends December 18th 8:00am (MST).

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
17
The Graveyard Challenge Finalists
Photo by stefan moertl on Unsplash

First of all, I would like to say a huge thank you to those of you who participated in the Graveyard Challenge!

In case you are wondering what the Graveyard Challenge was, please follow the link above.

Funny thing, when I came up with the concept for this challenge I didn’t realize how much reading I’d be doing… I’m funny that way! I’d like to blame HKB for that treachery but I we all know this is likely a Donna thing.

The submissions for the Graveyard Challenge were closed as of December 11th and I was able to get all the entries posted on my list for the following day. If you would like to see the comprehensive list of all the entries, please see the Graveyard Challenge. Or you can check out The Graveyard Challenge Complete List of Submissions.

Over the last few days, I have been reviewing the submissions and have come up with a list of my three five favourite entries.

Here they are in no particular order:

.

Dick Winchester in... The Box with No Name

Written by: Stephen A. Roddewig

This is a compelling story told from the perspective of a narrator that's both hilarious and relatable, in his quest to find his own claim to fame as he gets into a turf war with food delivery services.

"I feel he is onto something and could develop this storyline into a television series." - Lamar Wiggins

Archeologist (or as he prefers to be called, Grave Robber): Lamar Wiggins

.

Invasive Species

Written by: Alexander McEvoy

This is one of those, you have to read it to get it pieces. But once you've read it you can't forget what you have just read...

"Horrifying scene toward the end, but OMG what a great story!! A spooky aquarium after hours, a break in... and an invasive species. Whatever you're imagining will not be accurate to the reveal in this story." - Mackenzie Davis

Archeologist: Mackenzie Davis

.

Amber Moon

Written by: JBaz

A breath taking story about the ways of the world and the power of real love, even beyond the veil of death.

"There is a shining magic to this piece, a rhythm that allows the magic and fosters the acceptance of an altered reality the author offers to his protagonist to allow renewal, and there is something so affirming in that recognition of love as being enabling rather that disabling, as it can feel when we lose someone." - Hannah Moore

Archeologist: Hannah Moore

.

We ate fish on Fridays

Written by: Hannah Moore

" ... this Poem totally tore me apart with the depth of love in every line and word." - JBaz

Archeologist: JBaz

.

Nanna

Written by: Celia in Underland

"Celia in Underland invites the reader to be apart of one of the saddest moments in her life, every line is a tribute of beauty." - JBaz

Archeologist: JBaz

.

Now, this is where the fun part begins.

I am once asking all of you if you haven’t yet read the submissions and commented on them I suggest you do so now. As well, I would like you to comment below on your favourite piece to win as a way of casting your vote.

Voting will close December 18th at 8:00am (MST) and I will post the winner on December 19th.

One final reminder that the Author of the winning piece will receive a $5 tip and the Archeologist that dug up the piece will receive a $2 tip for their kindness!

May the odds be ever in your favour and let the voting commence!

Thank you again for all of your support,

Donna Fox, aka HKB

** Update: As of 8:00am (MST) the voting portion of this challenge has been closed. I will post the winners tomorrow morning around this time!

Thank you to everyone for your conintued support and particiaption!

Winners Announcement:

VocalShoutoutCommunityChallenge
17

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz5 months ago

    I missed the vote, but agree with the final results. They are so good. And thank you Donna for the tip

  • Brin J.5 months ago

    Damn, I didn't vote!!!😩 My weekend was spread thin between my nephew being born and a Christmas get-together. I'll give a late read and review on their works.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Hello! Your short list if full of great stories. I was almost swayed to change my vote to Invasive Species, but I have to stick with DW. I tend to lean more on the humorous side of things when it comes to reading. If I were able to choose 1st 2nd and 3rd it would be Stephen, Alex and Hannah. Now I know what it feels like for contest judges everywhere, lol. It's a tough decision but you have to pick.

  • Heyyyyy D! I'm back to cast my vote. I changed my mind. I wanna vote for just one story instead. Like I didn't wanna take the easy way out. So my vote goes to Invasive Species by Alexander McEvoy! 💖

  • If I'm not too late, I'd like to vote for this impressive challenge. I thoroughly enjoyed the reads... hard decision to make. I have to go with Hannah Moore's "We Ate Fish On Fridays." It was so poignant and beautiful, especially the ending... "And on the best days, you catch my eye, And I see you, for a moment, knowing me."

  • Amanda Starks5 months ago

    Man, these are some top tier finalists! O.O If I HAD to choose, I would pick Nana by Celia in Underland, as her diction and sense of emotional weight is stellar.

  • Vocal needs to hurry up and make this a Top Story so we get a good pool of voters before the clock runs out. They've done that for the other two challenge posts, so what's the hold up now?

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    I DONT KNOW WHICH ONE TO VOTE FORRRRR!! Ugh. I don't even know how you made the short list, Donna. These are all so damn good! I think I have to scrabble together some kind of criteria for my own vote. Which one touched me the most, which one was most memorable, which one was the most unique... I've got to land on Stephen's story. It had that satire that I'm gonna remember for months after reading it, the self-aware comedy that I just can't not laugh at, and damn, it's so unique; Dick is a bit of an enigma, and his way of seeing the world is just unlike anything else. Yeah. Stephen gets my vote. But I want to vote for all of them!!!

  • Okay I kinda know what's your answer gonna be but I'm still gonna ask it anyway. Can we only vote for 1 story? I wanna vote for all of them! Is that possible? Pretty please 😋😋😋

  • Test5 months ago

    Donna, thank you so much -Did not expect that for a single second. Its 4am and I'm stuck at school on the student Union Christmas sleepover (Teacher with inability to say 'no') So was feeling rather sorry for myself!! I will read the others after some actual sleep! 🤍

  • I am proud a comedy clawed its way into the Top 5, and one of my favorite characters, no less. But just from reading the descriptions of the others, I think I’m about to slaughtered by my fellow authors’ talent 😁

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    Oh wow those were all so good!!! I think I have to vote for “Nanna” as it just absolutely transported me there and broke my heart. ❤️

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Oooh, yay! So glad Alex's piece made the cut :DDD I got me some reading to do. ❤️

  • noor5 months ago

    innovative

  • Alexander McEvoy5 months ago

    I still can't get over Mackenzie's glowing endorsement of Invasive Species :3 Can't wait to read through the finalists!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Can't decide whether I'm more excited to be on this shortlist as an author or an archeologist!

  • This is a great idea so congratulations to the creators that made this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.