Writers logo

The First Stories

The First Time I Ever Created

By Hope MartinPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read

I remember, somewhere between childhood and awkward teenage years, I went from being an avid reader to an avid writer. I thank my high school friends for this transition. They introduced me to anime, manga, and fanfiction. Fanfiction.net was approximately where I started attempting to write coherent stories under the penname Amery Aquaisha. I know, what an alias, right?

It started with fanfiction. But, I found that boring. Writing stories with my favorite characters was fun at first, but as I started tapping into a creative nature within myself, I hated the restraints of being bound by someone else's characters. If I was writing about a certain character, I had to make that character stick to the original author's rules. If I wanted them to be something else, it would break character and it would feel wrong. Not only would I be violating my favorite characters that someone else worked hard to create and build, but I wanted to follow my own rules of writing. Whatever that meant to me at any given moment, I wanted to write what I wanted to write.

The first two storylines I ever came up with I still hope to one day go back to and write it from a more experienced perspective. Who knows? Maybe I'll publish them like I did Memoirs of the In-Between (currently being re-edited before a re-publish). The first story was about a war between Elves and Vampires. An elven princess must embark on a pirate-like journey over the seas after the Vamp9ire King kidnaps the Queen of Elves. I remember getting to chapter 12 before the floppy disc wiped itself clean. I cried for a week.

The other story I tried to write was about a holy war, where angels and demons disturbed the balance with their war that the worlds collided, and the war is brought to earth. This idea has evolved over the years instead of a holy war, it's just a spiritual war. And the balance between darkness and light has become so frayed that the veil between worlds has torn, and many universes collide with ours, bringing demons, fae, dragons, and many other beings into our world. There is also the plot twist that because our world doesn't have magic, the magic that does seep into our atmosphere is beginning to make people sick. It's a whole thing that I have been working on for years, and still haven't quite managed to figure out how to put it on paper yet.

Thinking about these ideas has made me nostalgic. These stories were the first time I felt I ever 'created' something. When I began to write, a whole side of me I didn't know I had locked deep inside emerged, and from there, I have now become a published author, and I have no intentions of stopping there.

My writing I feel has helped me through dark times, and sad times. Back when I first began to write, I was still inexperienced. I was still experiencing teen angst, childlike entitlement, and the need to grow up and get past things. Looking back, I was so young. I keep that young version of me alive. If I don't, then how am I to start a good story and help it grow? I myself have grown so much, and looking back, it's almost amusing how much I've grown, as a person, and a writer, and how it has changed since then, with everything I"ve endured and grown through. And I pray that it shows in my writing.

My 5-year-old daughter is competing in Nationals at the All American Miss Pageant in Orlando Fl, during Thanksgiving Week this year. It is being hosted with National American Miss. We are trying to raise money for hotel costs, her casual modeling outfit, her formal gown, and to submit her portfolio in a Photogenic. All money I make off of Vocal will be going straight to her Pageant.

If you are inspired by my “amazing” writing (haha!) to donate to Aylaina-Sky's pageant, please tip this story! Every dollar helps!

InspirationLifeCommunityChallengeAdviceAchievements

About the Creator

Hope Martin

Find my fictional fantasy book "Memoirs of the In-Between" on Amazon in paperback, eBook, and hardback.

You can also find it in the Apple Store or on the Campfire Reading app.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    To write something you're super into and then have it get erased is one of life's most significant letdowns! This was so interesting to read!

Hope MartinWritten by Hope Martin

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.