Writers logo

"The Blind Man's Gift"

"The Secrets That Lie Within"

By Isra SaleemPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
Like
"The Blind Man's Gift"
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

As I walked down the bustling street, I noticed a peculiar figure sitting on the corner, his eyes closed, and a gentle smile on his face. He was a blind man, his eyes cloudy and white, and his fingers deftly moving over the strings of a small harp. The music that flowed from his instrument was like nothing I had ever heard before - it was as if the notes themselves were alive, dancing in the air around us.

I was drawn to the man, and as I approached, he sensed my presence. He opened his eyes, and I was taken aback by the depth of his gaze, despite his blindness. He beckoned me closer, and I sat down beside him.

"Welcome, young one," he said, his voice low and soothing. "I have been waiting for you."

I was taken aback by his words, but he simply smiled and continued to play his harp. The music was hypnotic, and I found myself becoming lost in its rhythm and melody.

By Josh Calabrese on Unsplash

As I listened, the blind man began to speak, his words weaving a tale of love, loss, and redemption. He spoke of a life filled with darkness, but also of a gift that had been given to him - the gift of music.

"I was once a man consumed by my own despair," he said. "But then, I discovered the harp, and with it, a new world of sound and beauty. It has been my solace, my comfort, and my passion."

As he spoke, I felt a sense of peace wash over me, as if the music and his words were somehow healing a wound deep within my own soul.

The blind man's fingers danced across the strings, creating a symphony of sound that was both joyful and sorrowful at the same time. I felt tears pricking at the corners of my eyes, and I knew that I was not alone in my emotions.

As the music came to an end, the blind man turned to me, his eyes shining with a deep understanding.

"Remember, my young friend," he said, "that even in the darkest of times, there is always beauty to be found. And sometimes, it is in the darkness that we discover our greatest gifts."

And with that, he nodded, and I knew that our encounter was at an end. I rose to my feet, feeling changed in some way, and began to make my way back through the crowded streets.

As I looked back, I saw the blind man sitting alone, his harp silent, but his face still radiant with a gentle smile. And I knew that I would never forget the gift he had given me - the gift of music, and the reminder that even in the darkest of times, there is always beauty to be found.

The encounter with the blind man stayed with me long after I left the street corner. His music and words had awakened something deep within me, and I found myself seeking out the beauty in the world around me.

I began to notice the small things - the way the sunlight filtered through the leaves of the trees, the sound of birds singing in the morning, and the smell of freshly baked bread wafting from the nearby bakery. And I realized that the blind man had been right - even in the darkest of times, there is always beauty to be found.

I never forgot the blind man and his gift of music. And I made it a point to seek out the beauty in the world, no matter where I went or what challenges I faced.

ChallengeProcess
Like

About the Creator

Isra Saleem

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.