Writers logo

The Beginnings of Writing

Part Two

By Matthew GarlinPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
The Beginnings of Writing
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

The other thingthat inspired me was when I was a kid, my father used to show me old movies and he showed me the Judy Garland and Mickey Rooney movie Boys Town where I saw simple people putting on a show for themselves and I realized that it was something that I really wanted to do. I could imagine seeing my name in the credits as a writer of musicals and plays. But more than that, I could imagine getting a bunch of friends together and put on a show. That’s what I enjoyed the best. I enjoyed getting my friends together and even if there wasn’t an audience, we were the audience and we would make each other laugh. We could hang out for hours and just make jokes and almost entertain each other, theater is very much the same except higher stakes and more people can see it. So I began to ask myself: How do you write a show? My mom took me to see Broadway shows constantly! From when I was 10 until maybe when I was 16, my mother would take me on 3 vacation trips to New York City to see Broadway shows: in February, July, and December and the primary reason was to see Broadway shows. We would take a bus from Peabody and travel in one day to New York, usually stay in New Jersey and, yes do the sightseeing stuff but also see musicals and shows. I saw a ton of shows with some very good performers like Nathan Lane, Bebe Newuirth, and Michael Crawford. I was enjoying seeing these shows like Oklahoma, Urinetown, and Annie Get Your Gun, but I also had an alternative reason: I wanted to learn more about shows. I really wanted to learn how to write a show. I also used to visit the play bookstores and buy tons of books about playwriting and shows but also plays and musical librettos and I would read through them constantly to try to learn how to write my own show. I never bought a How to book, I always bought the librettos of the musicals and just read them from cover to cover multiple times and just try to learn how to write from that. Starting at 12-year-old, I began to try to write my own show to disastrous results. I began to learn how to write songs and my first writing partner was a kid called Marc Krupsky. Marc was a composer and a lyricist of his own, but we wrote together as Marc the composer and Matt the lyricist. I learned how to play keyboards, but I never took a music theory class, so I never really knew how to write music down, but Marc knew how to so that’s why I trusted him to take care of that. We found we loved early rock bands like The Beatles, Rolling Stones, The Who, and Led Zeppelin. So, we decided to try to write a show together and we called it The 60’s Story. It was going to be about the Vietnam War and it was like Miss Saigon mixed with Hair. We wrote a few of the songs and I wrote the book, but it got bogged down by my stupid lyrics. I read it now and it makes me embarrassed but that’s what happens with most people’s early work. I wasn’t ready yet. Marc and I tried to write a few more musicals but life took us in different paths so I began writing by myself but since I couldn’t really write music, I decided to learn how to write plays. The first play I wrote was called Wouldn’t Have Missed it for the World and it was terrible. Then I wrote a play called Stupidity Run Amuck which again was me trying to be Neil Simon and I came off like a bigger schmuck, but I was still learning. I also fell in love with Kaufman and Hart, and I tried to write plays that took place in only one place, but I hadn’t discovered dialogue and how dialogue should sound. I would just write scenes that wouldn’t go anywhere, and may I remind you, reader, that I was 12 and 13 so I wrote like a 12 or 13 year old with your mom jokes and random stupid juvenile jokes. Then I discovered Stephen Sondheim...

Inspiration

About the Creator

Matthew Garlin

Matthew Garlin is a playwright, producer, lighting designer, director, actor for Theatre, Film, and TV. He is also an author with many of his books available on Amazon Kindle and paperback.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Matthew GarlinWritten by Matthew Garlin

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.