Writers logo

Ten Questions with René Peters

My answers to the self-interview questions

By Rene PetersPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
5
Ten Questions with René Peters
Photo by Hannah Olinger on Unsplash

I finally decided to give the Ten Questions self-interview a chance.

What type of writer do you feel you are?

I feel like a writer who has a lot of room for improvement. I'm a writer that is terrible at their one real hobby. My main form of writing is poetry since it is easiest to vent about emotions through poems. I'm trying hard to get better at coming up with ideas for fictional stories since I only have two of those.

What type of writer do you not want to be?

I don't want to be a writer who hates everything they come up with, like I am right now. I want to be confident while remaining authentic. I don't want to be fake, even online.

What do you like about yourself as a writer?

This one is, admittedly, the hardest question for me. I like that I am honest. I don't have a fake persona just because I'm writing. I also like that I continue to write, with some help occasionally, even though I don't always have confidence. The feedback from others on here is slowly helping my confidence. (Thank you to everyone for that!)

What do you look for in other writers?

There aren't really any qualities I look for outside of authenticity, as I do for myself. I guess I also look for relatability based on what I find myself really enjoying.

What do you not like about yourself as a writer?

I don't like my lack of confidence. It has been hard for me but I'm trying to get help with it, from friends and my therapist. I also don't like that I feel like everything I write is the same every time.

Which writing genre or category do you feel is your best?

I think poetry is my best. Ideas for it come easiest to me because I can be a very emotional person. I guess it is more of I AM emotional, rather than CAN BE.

In which genre or category do you feel the most challenged?

For me, any form of fiction is difficult. I am trying to get better at it but it is very challenging for me.

When did you first start writing?

I started publishing my writing on Vocal in 2021, very sporadically. I started writing at all at the beginning of 2017 for myself though. It started because I needed a healthy coping skill and my therapist at the time suggested it. I stopped in late 2017 and restarted in 2020. Eventually I knew I wanted to start sharing poetry. That was when I found Vocal and, obviously, decided it was a great way to share my work. I glad I found it because there's an incredible community here.

Why do you write?

I write primarily for myself, to cope with intense thoughts and feelings. I do, however, receive a lot of comments about how my writing was either educational (most of my articles) or relatable (usually poetry), which helps my mental health. I have always wanted to help people and if my words can do that, then I'll continue to do it. The number one reason will always be so I can cope though.

This last question is off-topic. If you could be part of any television sitcom family, which one would it be and why?

I haven't really watched any sitcoms (I don't think I have anyways) so I'll go with any television show I know. I would want to be part of the Shay family from iCarly. I love the creativity that the family has, especially Spencer. I find his sculptures to be... Interesting.

LifeInterviews
5

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    I just read your second fiction and it was absolutely amazing! Oh how I miss iCarly! Loved that show!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Love it!!! Pure authentic and heartwarming!❤️❤️💕

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Rene, I find your honesty so very refreshing. We are very similar in the fact that writing is therapeutic and healing for us. I enjoy your writing very much, so don't stop, please!

  • You did a great job with this René. Believe it or not, I used to watch iCarly and I enjoyed the show... I was already in my 30s when the show first aired.

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    🖤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.