Writers logo

Storytelling-How To Tell A Story

Ted Talks

By Mattie :)Published 8 months ago 3 min read
5
Storytelling-How To Tell A Story
Photo by Ivan Aleksic on Unsplash

How to tell a story. That's a very important question. If you search through Google or check out some neat books from your local library then you will probably find thousands of articles on how to tell a story. And several of them will tell you this is exactly how you do it.

By Afif Ramdhasuma on Unsplash

Is it true though? Is there a perfect for sure way of telling a story? It feels like everyone has a legit answer, yet the results are minimum at best. Storytelling isn't like pulling a rabbit out of a hat and boom you're a millionaire. It just doesn't work that way at least not for most of us myself included.

It isn't all about perfect grammar skills or even about the protagonist. There are some really nice stories out there which are mostly centered toward the plot and less about the characters. The world is truly one big oyster.

Someone may love one story while others absolutely hate it. It doesn't all have to make sense all the time. That's just kind of how storytelling works like some movie that came out thirty years ago is more popular to today's audience. It just happens.

I personally don't believe there is a perfect way to tell a story. There are so many ways to tell a story. So many unique styles and voices to carry out the message. One route isn't always superior to others. Don't fall into the trap of following the trends cause trends are always changing.

A few years ago I was really into vampire stories. I kept reading vampire books or watching the films, trying to make the next Interview With a Vampire. I got so lost in the shiny new idea madness I ended up scrapping the idea completely cause the magic was no longer there. I learned I had to write what I desired to write whether others will like it or not. I mean hopefully a book I publish someday will gain some attraction, yet if all I'm doing is writing for the masses is it really something I desire to write?

Stories are important. Stories are what truly separate man from beast. Through stories we can learn so many lessons a textbook can hardly convey, especially when you've experienced the story yourself like being a soldier in an intense war or a nurse or doctor living through a global pandemic. When the events of the story, even if fictional, are based on something that truly happen to you then you can really write a total page turner. Like they say stories write themselves.

There is no perfect way to define a story or how we tell them. It's less about show vs tell and more show up and tell an incredible, breath taking story that will blow your readers minds away! How we do that exactly is really up to us which I know is hard, yet also rewarding.

I'm grateful to have pursuit'd the role of authorship. It has led me down so many rabbit holes, learning about dozens of different things I wouldn't of ever researched before. And the connections it has made are truly glorious. Learning how to do stuff is awesome! It puts you ahead of the game. Plus it gives me a chance to share my knowledge with others which is really inspiring.

The best advice I can give you from this post is this. You can tell a story. You really can. Remind yourself that each day. Never doubt your own abilities, especially if it's something you're fond of. Whether it's your dream to create the next Harry Potter franchise/universe( that is what got me started in the first place) or to write the story of your dreams. It is possible, and so worth it!

You know what you desire to write. So grab that pen or keyboard and get started. We never know where our dreams may take us. Grow the courage to try. No matter whatever the narrative is all about, stories are important and valuable and you can tell stories too. You can tell a story that will change someone's life and get them prepared to follow their dreams too. If that doesn't inspire you then I don't know what else will!

I hope this post motivates you to go out there and get that bread, chase your dreams, or simply try something out. Thanks again to all my subscribers and those who read my post. I'm truly honored to be a part of this amazing community here at Vocal.Media. Honestly it stresses me out sometimes, but that's ok.

Maybe you read only a few lines or are a total baddie and read the entire post. If so major props to you my friends. It truly means the world to me, so thanks again. Please like and comment below. Let me know what projects you're crafting. Take care and always be creative!

LifeInspirationCommunityAdvice
5

About the Creator

Mattie :)

I'm a 29 year old curious and creative soul. Spread love like a wildfire.#NonBinary #Christian #WellsFiction

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    Loved this! It reminded me of exactly why I write and great motivation! Thank you! 🤍

  • Very insightful and thoughtful! I really love how you laid out the process as being a personal journey! Every write's unique and we should all embrace the journey.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great tips! Thank you!

  • Good Article and Insights❤️💯✌️📝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.