Writers logo

StoryTime

Tell a Story of the First Poem You've Ever Written 📝…

By HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)Published 9 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
23
StoryTime
Photo by Tim Graf on Unsplash

As a young boy, I blundered with a different set of emotions… they were stringent for me to clarify.

Something apprised me that I stood unique in this world, but something also made me feel that I was dissimilar. There was a feeling inside that I couldn't describe.

By Wolfgang Hasselmann on Unsplash

***************************************

***************************************

When I was in 4th grade there existed this girl who had a crush on me, She gave me a folded piece of paper 📝 before class…

When I read it and I inquired of her what it was, she told me “A poem”…

That day I learned about poetry, but also I learned about the voice inside of my head, the boy who was making everything sound like music🎵 or simply a story…

I decided to write a poem and it Told a tale about my Dad❤️

-Growing up my parents were not together, well for a while but until they separated, maybe when I was 7 years old…

The feeling of being a kid and wanting Both parents haunted me, even when I became older…

I remember the day I sat in school, and wrote down everything that was stirring through my mind. It wasn't easy, especially when I wanted it to rhyme, but I pushed through.

Currently, I don't try to Rhyme, I concentrate on my feelings, and I write 📝.

***************************************

By Laura Chouette on Unsplash

My first poem, I had written was Very Profound and until this day, It's still deep, it has so much meaning to me. Of course, all of those years ago, I spoke from a little boy's perspective, but now sitting as a grown man, I could feel his pain and I seized his frustration. The Title of this poem was called “My Dad”.

This was only The Beginning because once I had written this chunk, I desired to write more poetry... I had written a few poems, and I sent them back to the girl because I wanted her to read them, and by this time We'd become close friends.

📝
**********************************************************************************

By Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

The School Launched a young Authors' Competition 🏇 and This was when the Magic Began, I first wrote a short story about something I read in class, it was a story about a boy who had Tetanus.

The teacher asked why I wrote such a story and also said she liked the Emotions I added. I told her that I felt Bad for the Boy and I wanted to give him a Happier Story…

📖

A Month later I had written My First Poetry Book Called (Poems Of Me And My Future)

And I Personally Illustrated a Rainbow 🌈 on the Cover… 📚

To Me, That meant it stood Special!

*************************************

I Didn't Win 🏅 the Competition, but when I received my Poetry Book 📖 it stood as the Happiest Moment for my 10-year-old self…

I rushed home with my Poetry Book in Hand, and didn't bother to shove it in my Bookbag 🎒

I was excited to show the Book to my mom and Family❗

Although my Mom Enjoyed reading my Poetry, It was My First Poem that made her emotions change as I Watched and Steadied her Face I Noticed the change- 🥹I could tell that It was a Bit Deep for her, but I really wanted to explain the poem and The Sentiments, but she didn't ask she just said I'll finish Reading This Later…📚

I had thought to myself that maybe I should have put that Poem Last so she could have Read My Poems and Talked about them with me.

(My Dad)

I miss my Dad

I miss my Dad

Ain’t that Bad

I miss my Dad

He wasn't there

For me,

But I Know he cares for me…

My Dad Lied to me,

And My Mom

Cried for me…

I don't know what made him

Leave, but I hope he

Remembers me…

My Name is His name,

And His is mine…

I'm not the first to be born at Birth

and I'm not a (Jr)

I'm the Third in line…

I am sad with an Angry feeling inside.

I miss my Dad

I miss my Dad

aint that Bad

I miss my Dad…

(The First Poem I Wrote)

LifePromptsInspirationChallenge
23

About the Creator

HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)

Welcome to “My Public Diary “🤪💖

Your Mind is

A Wonderland of

Your Imagination

Make it Beautiful!

🎉I am an Actor, Model, Writer, and Entrepreneur ❤️❤️🙏

Send Tip$🍀 ❤️😉Send Hearts and Add insights if you'd like 😍 ✨💯😉❗

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Darkos8 months ago

    Very touching and beautiful ❤️❤️!

  • Sarah D8 months ago

    Even though it was your first, all the emotions connected to it are valid. and pure. and make me want to read and write more. My latest poem https://vocal.media/poets/tik-tok-ruel0oz5

  • Sarah Danaher8 months ago

    The poem made me want to cry for you. I could hear your pain in it. The pain-filled poems always came out the best for me. It was really good and you were only 10. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Touching & heartbreaking!!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    That was so moving, so glad she gave you that poem. It opened your world

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    What a powerful story ❤️ And a thumping good poem!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Aww... This was so touching! What a talented writer you already were at 10 years old! My heart hurts for that young boy. I loved learning about the genesis of your writing journey! I would love to read the tetanus story one day! It sounds like a great one! Awesome job lil bro!

  • Ahna Lewis9 months ago

    Thanks for sharing this piece of your story, Lonzo! That poem is so special and I am so glad you found your voice through poetry!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    Oh my… I was curious about how you became a poet. It’s both heartbreaking and beautiful. ❤️

  • Omgggg your poem was so heartbreaking! I hope you are okay now. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Berry Driven9 months ago

    That's beyond beautiful. You made me reminisce about my early poetry days. My first poem was about my cat who passed away.

  • I'm so sorry that your mother couldn't get past that first poem, but I love that you shared this with us, the way you told your story, & ending it with the poem was perfect & beautiful.

  • Definitely a gift. Not just anyone can pose their thoughts so well. Great job

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    So glad you shared this! It’s so important to remember the early days of our adventure. Loved the Dad poem! 💖

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    You got talent at such a young age. You got a book of poetry as well, awesome. I felt the strong emotion in your first poem and it’s very relatable. This is a beautiful and sentimental story . 💕

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    I don't connect well with any poetry, but I did enjoy your back story. it's surprising what events will change or shape a person's life. Well told!

  • Sarah D9 months ago

    loved your poem! It was so cute! Read my latest? https://vocal.media/fiction/fuchsia-and-her-podcast

  • Mark Graham9 months ago

    Good work even the 'Dad' poem. I have a Dad and Brother poem as well. The brother one is in a poetry anthology that was published in 1987 and the Dad one is in a notebook. I am thinking of sharing them here.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Beautiful, Handsome. Just beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.