Writers logo

Show Me Your Bloopers

Gitchore bloopers out! Whoop whoop etc. Asking the big questions like, Are elbow nipples obscene? TL;DR - the intelligence is artifical, but the stupid is real.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
15
Show Me Your Bloopers
Photo by Mikael Kristenson on Unsplash

The intelligence is artificial, but the stupid is real

I know lots of Vocal + members use AI to generate cover images for their stories here. (Not judging, I've done it as well. Sometimes, Unsplash just doesn't cut it. I did feel a bit dirty, though.)

Maybe you're just better at it than me, but many - most? - of the ones I come up with look a bit... off. Do you find the same?

I've only just started, so it's probably me. I'm betting you have more experience and et better results. Feel free to share your wisdom with me... Does it depend on which app you use, or is there a knack to wording the prompt to avoid confusing the artifical stupidit intelligence? Tell me your thoughts!

I don't intend to use it often enough to make it worth paying for one, so I use a free one. Maybe it's just that I am getting what I pay for.

If you're like me, you have to submit a dozen prompts, wording tweaked this way and that, and different styles tried... Not only to get something that matches your own hoped-for vision reasonably well, but even just to get an image of a creature that doesn't look deformed, or of a woman that doesn't have three knees, or nipples on her elbows. (Yes, that really happened. I've included it, keep scrolling 👇)

If any of this is resonating, I want to see the images that AI spat out for you that didn't make it. I think they're funny! Lots of us pop an "author's note" at the bottom of our stories. Can we make AI bloopers a regular feature as well?

Include the weirdest ones, or the ones that made you laugh.

Lots of us have beef with AI, and for good reason. I'm not going to get into the tangle of pros and cons and ethics here. That's for another post on another day, maybe.

I just want to have a bit of a laugh at AI's expense. It's a victimless crime.

Here's a few of mine:

These are all Moira bloopers. I didn't save the fails that I got when I was trying to get a decent dragon picture for The Baby. I wish I had. They were... not majestic. At all.

Not to body-shame but... bloody hell, what is going on with those out of proportion thighs? Nobody actually looks like that, right? Do they?

How many knees does one dangerous dream stalking woman need? I never thought I'd have to specify, "woman with only two knees" for AI, but here we are.

OK, here comes the elbow nipple! If absurd partial nudity of a not-real person is not something you are here to see, this is your chance to back out. Let me assure you that the nipple which would look more realistic is not really visible. There are some hella bare shoulders going on though.

Decolletage in three ... two ... one ...

+

+

+

+

+

+

+

+

+

+

Does a nipple even count as nudity if it's on the elbow? Who even knows in this topsy turvy world.

~o~

As always, thank you for reading! Please leave a comment so I can reciprocate the read. Your thoughtful engagement is genuinely appreciated.

My questions to you:

1. Do you use AI for any of your cover pictures? If so, what do you use and how do you find it?

2. Do you have any bloopers to share? I showed you mine, now you show me yours!

3. Do you have any tips for getting the most out of it?

VocalResourcesCONTENT WARNINGCommunityAdvice
15

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    In the spirit of your story, that's some funny shit. I know we're here for the writing, but I haven't used AI for images, and will avoid it for as long as I can.

  • And Chandler Bing thought it embarrassing to have three on his chest, lol. Now I will forever be wondering when I see someone wearing long sleeves when it's warm outside. And yes, I have known people with hips & thighs pretty much like that. Some find them incredibly erotic. Unfortunately, I'm not one of them (or at least wasn't back in my early 20s). Yeah, one of the nicest persons I've ever known who was completely smitten with me was built like that. I tried to fall in love with her but just couldn't get there at that level of shallow immaturity.

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Wow! I'm actually impressed with the... quality of even these bloopers? Mine are usually a huge mess of random colours and things and I normally just give up when I find something that's even close to good enough lol. That third knee for Moira was... unsettling in the extreme but I feel like it could be a useful depiction for a dream demon in the future? Very uncanny valley, y'know? I normally use Dalle to generate my images, and I never feel dirty about it because there's no way what I create could ever be mistaken for genuine human art. If I could get good stuff out of it... well I'd definitely feel a lot more iffy about it then

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Haha. Hilarious. I've used Dall-e when I couldn't find a suitable pic. It never comes out right time. Have to admit though, I've never got anything so hilariously bad as the ones you have.

  • That ain't a third knee. That's a hugeeeee dick! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 1. I've tried my hand at Nightcafe AI but they always look so fake to me and never what I'm looking for. I don't have the patience to coax it to gimme what I exactly what so I always use images from Unsplash, Pixabay or Pexels. 2. Nahhh, not gonna publish a piece just for the bloopers. Sorry 😋 3. You can ask Mike. His Nightcafe creations are always soooo amazing!

  • Sara Frederick4 months ago

    Hahahaha, this is very funny. I'm still laughing.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji4 months ago

    Ask Seinfeld about the nipple lol. I am a Seinfeld maniac- my apologies

  • Thavien Yliaster4 months ago

    1. Yes, I have used Dalle.2 when Vocal came out with the Eragon Dragon Fantasy Fiction challenge. I also use NightCafe. I've gotten good images and bad images from both. Some of my best images are used in haikus. One of the best images, in my opinion, is what looks like to be a Black woman nursing a little baby. 2. I got tons of bloopers. I could show them to You via discord, Facebook Messenger, and there's even a few published on here. "Petals beneath the Mountains" has one of the better images of a AI generated busty woman that I've used, but "Diamond Fountain" has a lady with a very smushed up nose. 3. Sometimes when it comes to AI I've taken one image as a template and evolved it to become more refined. The more refined images that I used the better some of the images seem to have come out. Plus, some of the images that I had respond better when You use specifics such as nationality, skin color, and definite of bodily dimensions. However, it is weird how AI will screw up generating images of cars, but then it's also trying not to imitate anything that's already been photographed, and cars can only be modified to the extent of human imagination.

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Yes, AI-generated images do come out deformed. I am just happy that they do not come out perfect that just means we are still Superior to AI

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Many are the thoughts I have about AI art, but these were quite funny! That knee one got me good! 😆 I would say that if Unsplash isn’t cutting it, it may be worth it to seek other free photo databases, like Library of Congress, Pexels, or Flickr. (Specifying “commercial use allowed” licenses.) I will often find the right image in those places when Unsplash fails me.

  • Hilarious! I am here because I like bloopers of all shapes and sizes! 🤣 I have had some crazy images generated by AI with anatomy reassembled in ways that would make Picasso envious, although the elbow nipple is a new one for me! lol

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Funny! No, I use pinterest photos mostly and others from research on historical topics. AI is a bit scary for me...feels like a bad LSD trip (I imagine.)

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Alas, I was disappointed enough with the first few attempts at using AI for images, I didn't bother pusuing it any further. Perhaps in a year or two I'll see how far it's progressed. I have seen some quite disturbing examples, including those you've posted and I'll enjoy a peek at what's to come.

  • I just read an article about how AI "trash" has now seemed to have become the "majority" of the internet haha. In fairness though, some of the "trash" at least is comical. This was nice to read/see the "silver lining" within this topic L.C.!

  • Gerard DiLeo4 months ago

    My thoughts exactly. See my nippling niggling at https://vocal.media/filthy/it-s-about-time-we-addressed-the-800-lb-nipple-in-the-room.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.