Writers logo

Savages

Unofficially! A Novel challenge for July. Tell me about the Savage inside of you. Reach deep and explore your beastly baser monster.

By Novel AllenPublished 4 days ago Updated about 19 hours ago 3 min read
Medusa

Can we become a bit Kafka-esque. Franz Kafka (1883 – 1924) was a German-language novelist and writer from Prague. He is widely regarded as one of the major figures of 20th-century literature. His work fuses elements of realism and the fantastic. It typically features isolated protagonists facing bizarre or surrealistic predicaments and incomprehensible socio-bureaucratic powers. Kafka's work has been interpreted as exploring themes of alienation, existential anxiety, guilt, and absurdity. His best known works include the novella The Metamorphosis and novels The Trial and The Castle. The term Kafkaesque has entered English to describe absurd situations like those depicted in his writing.

So, let's get Kafkaesque.

~~~~~~

Here is a poem by Me, not Kafka

We are born Ancestral

Into a Human jungle.

Unsuspecting and

Innocent we were

before

Nihilism became our plight.

Anarchy, Violence and corruption

blights the Earth

as we

Rip and tear the flesh

of yours, theirs and our Humanity.

Savage and wild are our desires

to Consume the souls of our brethren

As we run wild in this jungle

of our Creation.

The Moon weeps for us

Clouds of tears fall at our feet

the Sun kisses our cheeks

all trying to salve the savagery

from our base and cruel hearts.

Still the savage growls and thrives...

Hungry. Eyes glowing with a lust for flesh,

it lives, evolves in all of us

some hide it well in winsome smiles

others wrap it in chic high fashion and flawless skin

The bold ones bare their teeth and claws for all to see

I feel the Savage rise in by breast quite often

willing me to unleash my inner beast

I am a Wolf in sheep's clothing

biding my time, for

when the Moon is full

And I unleash the Savage Beast

it's time to roar.

Other beasts are out tonight

We fight to the death!!!!!!!

Have you ever felt that there is a monstrous side to you. That deep down in your soul is a wolf, lion, or a demon that just wants to get out and howl at the moon. Do you long to let loose and tear through the woods at breakneck speed, throwing all caution to the wind. Or would you prefer to hunt your prey, catching it, ripping it to shreds and eating it raw in euphoric victory.

Choose your animal, choose your poison, set it free and run wild with the wind.

Finally, an exciting story to bring out the beast in you. Although I have explored other topics and tried to find one that I felt passionate about, this one I feel I can finally publish.

Let out those pent-up beasts in a poem or short story or whatever under 600 words as far as possible. It matters not which community you decide to post in.

Humble prize!!!

I am whetting my feet with prizes of dollars of 20, 10, 5 and maybe some twos if I fancy your story as an Honorable Mention.

I am expecting some mayhem, fun and 'bad stuff'.

Yep, you all know the drill.

Deadline is the 20th of July, with results by the 26th July. Post as many entries as you wish. Happy hunting.

I surely hope that a few people will indulge their inner beast and savage nature in the month of July.

Make us laugh, make us cry, make us scratch our heads and go

What the heck? Oh My God!

Curdle our blood and make us cringe, write things that Vocal might not even want to publish. Horrify and abuse the senses, climb out of your comfort zone and live a little. Are you a gregarious politician with a secret vice, a boy trapped in a girls body, or vice versa. Are you a monster trapped in a child's body. Are you a man/woman by day and an animal by night, hunting its prey for survival. The possibilities are endless.

Unleash the monster

Even AI does it. I asked for a pic of Vin Diesel with glowing eyes and robotic arms. This is what AI unleashed.

High five to AI. Though it is a tad scary what interpretations our way comes!!!!

'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''

Gerard DiLeo writes of unique giant who just keeps growing. A rather fascinating idea.

PromptsWriting ExerciseProcessLifeChallenge

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Grz Colmabout 24 hours ago

    What a cute little robot doggie!!! Uh.. so I think you mentioned something about this…but I do not think u said monster, and I just mentioned you about my inner monster on my post.. weird! Anyway mine is under lock and key..I think hahah ..nothing is coming to mind. If it does I will let u know.👍 Is this your first unofficial challenge..? Cool. Sorry if it’s not and I’d missed it! Have a great day my friend! Ps I loved the metamorphosis and read it twenty years ago, stayed with me haven’t read any other Kafka but am aware of the “movement”. PPS. Amazing poem too!

  • Gerard DiLeoa day ago

    My submission, humbly entered: https://vocal.media/fiction/184-doubling-down-a-kafkaesque-fable-where-the-sky-s-the-limit

  • Seemed to be a nice craft Novel. Excited!

  • Oooo, this seems like a cool challenge. Let's see what Mr Brain says hehehe. I have a few question though. 1. When is the deadline? 2. Can we enter our old stuff or does it have to be newly written? 3. How many entries per person?

  • Ooh this is a frighteningly compelling prompt!! I'll see if I can muster up the courage to come up with something...thanks for sharing this creative challenge, Novel!

  • Gerard DiLeo4 days ago

    I just might need to jump in here. Dismissing my credo-receptors to seize something unimaginable.

  • Lamar Wiggins4 days ago

    Nice! Finally, I can release the beast, lol. When is the deadline?

  • kp4 days ago

    THIS IS EXCITING!

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.