Writers logo

Overcooked slice of bread

a good and meaningful story

By Đăng Khoa ĐỗPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1
Overcooked slice of bread
Photo by Helena Yankovska on Unsplash

When I was young, I recall a night when my mom arrived home tired after a long day at work. During dinner, she served some slices of bread that were as black as coal. Meanwhile, my dad simply enjoyed his cake and asked me about school, as he did every day. Although I can't recall my response, I do remember overhearing my mom apologize to him for burning the bread. To my surprise, my dad reassured her by saying, "Honey, I like burnt bread." Later that evening, I approached my father to inquire if he genuinely enjoyed burnt bread. He responded, "Your mother worked hard all day and was exhausted. A burnt slice of bread won't harm anyone, but you know what can harm someone? Severe criticisms and reproaches." He added, "Life is filled with imperfections, including imperfect people like Dad, who falls short in many ways, such as forgetting birthdays and anniversaries." Through the years, I've learned to embrace the flaws of others and choose to appreciate their uniqueness.

Advice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatárabout a month ago

    This is so true! >>"A burnt slice of bread won't harm anyone, but you know what can harm someone? Severe criticisms and reproaches". It makes one think about what reactions are truly important when we interact with other people. Thanks for this beautiful story and reminder!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.