Writers logo

Out with the old

Progress is not something that occurs naturally or spontaneously; rather, it is the result of intentional effort and action.

By Jordan JonesPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
2

Last year, I decided to delete my old Vocal account. Deleting my account was like closing a chapter in my life. Grammar, spelling, proper punctuation, and writing flow are not my strong suit. (Go figure, the little dyslexic girl loves to write, right?) Sigh! It was a bold move, but one that I felt was necessary.

Despite my shortcomings, writing has always been my passion. It is through writing that I find solace, expression, and a sense of purpose. It is a medium that allows me to escape into a world of words, where my dyslexia becomes a mere obstacle to overcome rather than a hindrance.

When I first discovered Vocal, it felt like a safe haven for someone like me. A platform where I could share my thoughts, stories, and ideas with others who didn’t know or would judge me. It was a community that celebrated creativity and authenticity, regardless of perfect grammar or flawless spelling.

However, as time went on, I realized that keeping my account was holding me back. It was a constant reminder of my insecurities, my fear of judgment, and my struggle to meet society's standards of "good writing." It became clear that if I wanted to grow as a writer, I needed to let go of the past and start fresh.

With a renewed sense of purpose, I created a new account in 2023 and began my journey once again. Rebuilding my presence on Vocal was not without its challenges. It required patience, perseverance, and a willingness to put myself out there. I received my first follow and received comments on my stories. I am working to revise my previous stories and publish them again. Although their plots were strong, there is a significant opportunity for improvement and revamping in terms of grammar and wording.

I create my artwork covers for my stories, thus establishing a specific atmosphere as a writer. This not only enables me to visually express my creativity but also assists in developing a unique aesthetic that harmonizes with my writing style. Of which I have not done before.

So with all that being said, my aspirations as a writer on Vocal for 2024 would be to achieve at least a runners-up win! Vocal has given me a reason to write and a goal to strive towards.

Each time I publish a new piece, I am filled with excitement and anticipation, wondering if it will receive reads. The thought of my work being acknowledged among talented writers is truly exhilarating. Being recognized as a runners-up winner in 2024 would validate all the effort, time, and dedication I have poured into my stories.

No matter what, I love writing and will continue to grow as a writer. The challenges alone bring forth so much creativity and excitement. But hey, one can't hope for a win, right?

ProcessInspirationChallenge
2

About the Creator

Jordan Jones

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Keep writing! No matter what your challenges, practicing your craft will lead to improvement. On another note, have you considered using a writer's software/program to help you iron out issues with grammar, structure, etc.? I'm not talking about AI writing, but essentially an editorial aid. There are several available out there, but I have personally used Autocrit and it does a very good job. Best wishes going forward on Vocal! No matter how good, or polished your writing becomes, there is always a subjective element to art. Not winning an award or challenge is not a final verdict on the quality of your writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.