Writers logo

Oops I Did It Again

As A Writer And Person I Am Totally Undisciplined

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 days ago 3 min read
9
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

Iam ironically totally indisciplined as a writer but expect myself to follow rules and expect the same from others, but that is just part of my strange and weird mundset which I know is very disconcerting for many readers. These are just a few of the things I get so wrong when trying to do the right thing.

The music is Richard Tmpson's take on the Britney Spears' song that I stole for my title.

Continually Taking The Wrong Turn

I often feel that when I write poetry I am being lazy, but the number of words I put down does not necessarily reflect the work that has gone into it. In an interview Neil Diamond said it took him six weeks to create the line "I Am...I Said", that's like ten days a word.

Sometimes the words come and sometimes they don't. I find writing most poetry quite easy, and because of that I try not to publish poems consecutively but I have just that with my ninth entry in the Vocal "In Eclipse" Acrostic Challenge. I will admit I did want to write this when the challenge was coming to an end, but in myself, I see laziness when I should see brilliant creativity, but the reality is I see both.

By the way, the previous poem "Ra" about all things Egyptian (mythologically speaking) can be found at the end of "The Final Cut".

When we create something, we should appreciate that we have created something from nothing, however small it is. My friend Les wrote this clever and funny piece from the Vocal "High-Ku" challenge, it's eleven words from which we can learn much and the title is a great play on words. This did not take her two minutes, a lot of work went into this:

I feel I am one of the best Villanelle writers on Vocal and that gives me an opportunity to share Michael Sheen's reading of 'Do not Go Gentle into that Good Night' by Dylan Thomas, one of the greatest Villanelle's you will ever read or hear.

I give a demonstration of how to write a Villanelle here:

My poetry tends to be Villanelle or Sonnet, but that often causes problems for other creators.

I also feel that I do not work enough to create fiction, and poetry and fiction are just two of the forty-eight Vocal Communities where we can share our work. The other side is that I am one of the few Vocal Creators who has published every community. I don't know of any others, though if they come forward I am sure that Vocal will give them the recognition they deserve.

I have created 235 fiction pieces in my three years on Vocal and 835 poems and those two communities are the repositories for half of my creations.

Conclusion

Although I feel I am being lazy in roughly 1,100 days I have published 2,152 stories on Vocal, 2,153 including this one. That is an average of two every day that I have been here. That is anything but lazy.

So what if I publish two or three poems or microfiction one after another?

I have methodologies that I apply when I write and that enables me to produce things very quickly. Because all this is based on my observations or creativity, I seldom have to cross-reference things to make sure they are accurate or true.

Although I often stray off my own defined beaten path, it is seldom too far to come back and get back on track.

I don't know if this article was what I intended it originally to be but I hompe it has given you some ideas.

Thank you for sticking with me and reading this.

VocalShoutoutProcessCommunityAdvice
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton9 days ago

    I agree, you are the Vical villanelle king 👑 🤗

  • The Dani Writer9 days ago

    Yeah, that is some feat Mikeydred! There is a part of me that wants to publish in all the Vocal communities but thus far, the part of me that doesn't has won out.

  • You most definitely, without a doubt are the King of Villanelle on Vocal. Apart from you, Loryne Andawey has published in all communities but this was when there were only 40 communities. She disappeared after that. So sad

  • Cathy holmes10 days ago

    Good article.

  • Michelle Liew11 days ago

    Structure breeds awareness indeed, Mike. Go on creating!

  • KJ Aartila11 days ago

    I think I am a lot the same! Though, not nearly as prolific! Nicely done. :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.