Writers logo

Onions Have Layers

And So Do I

By Angel AdagioPublished 3 months ago β€’ Updated 3 months ago β€’ 3 min read
Like
Onions Have Layers
Photo by Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

I am emotional.

Not in the way that everyone assumes emotions = crybaby. Emotional in the way that when something may seem inconsequential to you, it really bothers and hurts me. I don't usually say anything though, out of fear of losing people I care about.

I also struggle with having emotions.

I feel them so deeply sometimes that I subconsciously numb myself just to protect myself from getting hurt any more than I already have. Or I just never feel a thing because I don't know what I am supposed to feel. But I won't say anything about that because I will come off as heartless.

I don't know what to look forward to.

Little goals started to help, but even that gets tainted and I am left trying to just inhale and exhale and just hope I can continue doing that to get through the day. Sometimes, that just isn't enough. But I can't say anything because it'll be selfish of me.

I also have long term things to look forward to.

But long term doesn't necessarily help me now. I need structure and balance for the now, but all I get is turmoil. Especially when all my strength is being put to getting through every day that they blur together. But I cannot say anything because it'll just seem like a cry for attention.

I am sensitive.

Sometimes I can joke about the struggle I'm going through, other times I am in a deep hole of despair and cannot handle any jokes at all. Sometimes I can handle hearing the joy and amazing things in everyone's lives, but sometimes it feels like a slap in the face. But I put my mask on and keep moving forward because that is all I am allowed to do nowadays. I can't say anything because I don't want to be too much.

I am lonely.

I can't talk about the things I want to because it feels like 1 - the person I'm talking to doesn't entirely care, 2 - I'm always bringing the mood down, and 3 - because I don't feel safe to talk about my struggle without it becoming accusatory or being met with a brick wall. But to sum up all those feelings, I don't say anything because I just don't want to be a burden.

I am hurt.

But I can never say why I am hurt or how things have hurt me because that would be inconsiderate, and I would be overreacting. So, again, I bury it. Because I don't want to argue about why something small to you really makes me feel unimportant and question, "Why am I even here?" I don't want to care about the little things, but I do. But I won't say anything.

I am scared.

I don't know what my future holds, and I don't know what'll happen to me and it feels like I have a countdown going. I'm racing with the clock, and it doesn't seem like people completely understand that. I can barely breathe sometimes, and I would like nothing more than to just be okay. But I can't say that I'm not okay.

I am complex. I am low-maintenance, but also high-maintenance. I am funny, but also serious. I am not a cookie-cutter person. I have my flaws and I have my strengths. I want to make a difference to the world, but not sure how to go about it. I want to be a good friend, but also feel like I am the worst friend. I have my layers. I am trying to unpeel every layer as best as I can, but it is terrifying.

I am trying to be okay despite everything I have going on. I just need a hand sometimes. I hope that's okay.

My layers are complicated, and I am trying to repair some. It won't be easy, but I hope it'll be worth it.

ProcessLife
Like

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.