Writers logo

New Year, Same Story

The return of the Vocal soldier of fortune

By Stephen A. RoddewigPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 6 min read
4
New Year, Same Story
Photo by Eduard Delputte on Unsplash

For much of my time on this platform, it’s been a quiet existence. It mirrored my experience of the traditional publishing world:

  1. Write story
  2. Edit story
  3. Submit story
  4. Get rejected mercilessly until someone finally says yes
  5. Publish story
  6. Look down at latest print anthology in my hand, say “Cool,” and repeat Steps 1-5 ad infinitum
Secret Step 7: Look at the literary legion one day and say, "Uh oh, we're running out of space. Time to get selective about what copies I'm buying."

Except with Vocal, the rejection component was not the barrier to publishing the story, more like the sting that came after it failed to place in the Challenge that heralded its creation. In that case, I’d sigh, tell myself “Maybe next time,” and repeat the great content creation loop.

Either way, I was flying well under the radar, writing and publishing with few the wiser. In that operating stance, I wracked up three Runner Up badges and a crisp $100. Not bad at all.

Others would write of the importance of reciprocity, of engaging with those you wish to engage with you. A few then wrote that this basic component of online writing was “insincere,” kicking off debates about the rules of engagement on the platform.

Then there was me, shrugging at the whole debate as I proudly described myself as the “Vocal mercenary” in comment sections. Others worried about building followings; I was here for the medals. I knew I’d never reach a wide audience because I wasn’t putting in the legwork. So what? I didn’t consider the community the true value of this platform.

Then I happened to nab the 2nd Place spot in a Challenge, and suddenly the paradigm had shifted. Folks were reading that story, commenting on that story, and the Vocal mercenary didn’t know how to be.

For the rest of the year, more and more eyes found their way to my stuff, until I found myself compulsively checking each time something new went out there and taking far too much to heart the reaction/lack of reaction as a sign of the piece’s worth. But there was a time long before Vocal, long before Medium and WordPress even, when I wrote stories, poetry, and plays with no outside validation. Hell, that guy even wrote a couple full-length novels.

So screw external validation.

Aspiration 1: A return to prior operating stance

Too often of late I’ve been writing pieces based on what I assume the almighty Top Story gods would want to see. Or I’ve been creating articles to try and garner attention. Once again, whenever I fail in these goals, I conclude it’s a failure of the writing when there are a thousand factors driving these outcomes.

Time to resurrect the Vocal mercenary. There was a time when I’d publish a piece expecting no one to see it. When I didn’t spend an hour responding to comments that I could otherwise be, you know, writing.

There was also a time when I didn’t feel so pressured to produce for the sake of “keeping up.” When I didn’t find myself rushing editing processes for the sake of getting something out the door (excluding the inevitable "back to the deadline wall scenario," anyway). And I worry my prose quality suffers because I’m making decisions based on external factors, not my own instinct.

The Vocal soldier of fortune I used to be didn’t worry about how others would react, because, on the whole, no one would react to his stuff. He also didn’t worry about getting Top Story, because, once again, he wouldn’t. He operated in the shadows, slowly taking more of Vocal’s prize money and repurposing his stories into print credits and podcast episodes.

Now, if I somehow nabbed 1st Place in one of these things, would I be mad? Hell no. But that’s not what I’m aiming for. 1st Place means exposure, folks finding and interacting with your stuff, and I am happy to leave that to the big leaguers with their massive followings. I’m content with the little quorum I’ve built, thank you very much.

Not that the mercenary in me would ever say no to $2,024 (hint, hint).

Besides, I’ve got my sights set on some larger goals than the Challenge chase this time around.

Aspiration 2: Finish the Dick Winchester series

Or at least get Book 2 filled out and move Book 1 toward the finish line.

Inspired by one of my favorite independent creators, I’m following the J.W.G. Wise method when it comes to a series: write it all before publishing any of it. For him, this means writing all seasons of his horror podcasts before producing any. For me, it means writing Books 2 and 3 of the Dick Winchester series before publishing Book 1.

Fortunately, the aim for each of these is ~20,000 words, so it’s definitely attainable in 12 months. The real trick is to turn what was a series of stories connected by a character into a fleshed-out plot. On that count, I also have a fairly good vision at this point. So now the goal is to stay focused.

In the past, I was able to use Vocal challenges for double duty, writing entries that belonged to the series while also producing decent submissions. We’ll see if the demands of the plot and the challenge requirements run up against each other. Until then, why not keep killing two birds?

After all, it’s absolutely possible to do both, as evidenced by the other book I started on Vocal.

Aspiration 3: Publish A Bloody Business

Of all the goals, this one is the most attainable, because… it’s almost out!

At this point, all writing is finished, all editing is finished, and all formatting is finished. The only pieces remaining are the audiobook, which is being recorded, and the book cover, which is being designed.

Current publishing timeframe is set for late March/early April. Mostly because I want to have print, e-, and audiobook all release at the same time. Why? Because most of my book consumption is through listening, so I’m hoping to appeal to those like me.

Like the Dick Winchester series, A Bloody Business is special because it grew out of a series of Vocal challenge entries all centered on the humorous hitman of history, Martin Williams. In fact, without the Ship of Dreams challenge, it’s doubtful I would have ever created the character or his memorable debut as he must eliminate his target while Titanic sinks around them. That story was also the first time I notched a Runner Up place, so it marked a big moment in my Vocal pursuits.

The real question is whether I’ll be able to move more than 20-30 copies. I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about how I’d convince a random stranger to buy a book from an author they’ve never heard of and haven’t come up with any good answers. Mostly I’m keeping prices low to try to overcome hesitancies. Just need to trust the algorithms, I suppose.

Reenter the Mercenary

Here’s to remembering what matters on this platform: all that it makes possible for my writing career beyond this platform.

Some examples:

  • Content for self-published books
  • Content for my podcast
  • Content for reprints in story collections, other writing sites, even other podcasts
  • Increased credibility as a writer with challenge accolades under my belt
  • A collection of free content for those who want to see samples before opting for any of my paid offerings
  • A place to affirm the worth of my Horror Writers Association membership to the tune of $79 a year by pointing to it every chance I have in articles, bios, and comment sections

And here’s to remembering all that doesn’t matter as much on this platform:

  • Hearts
  • Comments
  • Top Stories
  • Vocal drama

After all, someday this Vocal experiment will be over.

And when that day comes, I will be glad to have found such synergy between my in-platform and external writing efforts. A fitting memento of my time on the platform to hold several books that had their origins on the site plus all my other reprinting efforts with individual stories.

Now back to the fight.

Vocal Mercenary over and out.

ProcessVocal
4

About the Creator

Stephen A. Roddewig

I am an award-winning author from Arlington, Virginia. Started with short stories, moved to novels.

...and on that note: A Bloody Business is now live! More details.

Proud member of the Horror Writers Association 🐦‍⬛

StephenARoddewig.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Well, I can tell you that you have one preorder at least at this point. Looking forward to the release whenever it is. And for anyone who's uncertain about ordering it, let me simply say that it's extremely inexpensive &, from the chapters I've already read, more than worth it five times the price.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I believe Vocal is sheering off into new territory which will change the landscape even more than it has already changed. I see the signs and wonder when the ball will drop. At least you got some winnings from it all.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Vocal is a springboard for me, not an end goal in itself. But I take the reciprocity as part and parcel of what it's all about. The way you convince a stranger to buy your book is (partly, at least these days) with a social media following... and there's one pretty much ready-made right here, ready to cheer you on, buy your stuff, leave you reviews. All they ask is that you show up for them the same way 😁 There is so much written content for free or low cost these days. We've all been spoilt by free titles and 99p on Kindle. Authors pour a lot of resources and a lot of themselves into their works and deserve to be fairly compensated. The race to the bottom price-wise is only going to end when we all decide, collectively, that it ends. 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.