Writers logo

My First Story In The Writer’s Community On Vocal

My first Approve Story/Poetry On Vocal

By Mariann CarrollPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
9
My First Story In The Writer’s Community On Vocal
Photo by Windows on Unsplash

My name is Mariann Carroll, I am a writer on Vocal. My first few creations on Vocal was not approved. They were actually stories. I try to enter them at the Challenges.

I give up. I came back on Vocal to try again. I was so excited when my poems started getting approved. That give me hope I have a chance at writing. Most of my poetry are about emotions and empowerment. I give a glimpse of how I think and survive through my poetry. My stories, I love to give them happy and romantic endings.

What I like most about writing is that it give me a since of control in my life. I have experience things that I would not wish on anybody else. I do say, I am grateful for a lot of moments in my life. Here is a secret in my detailed fiction writing, I put down my emotions in the characters so the readers truly feel the story.

A great writer to me is when they write a story and the readers feel the emotions of the Characters in the story. Poetry writing on the other hand, is very freeing for me as a writer. That’s why, I think my poetry was approved first before my stories.

I never felt free my whole life until I started writing. I learned a lot about myself from my poetry and stories. Writing has been my authentic canvas, sort of speak.

I got to say, Vocal’s Challenges are my inspiration that really help me find my creative side of me. My favorite story I created was Frank The Shark. I dated a guy name Frank, he wanted to get married and just got freed from a marriage from hell, excused my language.

Frank the Shark in the story was very supportive to the little boy in the story, just like in the story. He was a good friend. The little boy in the story his parents got a divorce and having a friend is always important.

I challenge myself in that story to create five vocal challenges in that one story. The Shark Challenge, The Marigold Challenge, death by Chocolate cake challenge, Marigold Challenge, Brown Box Challenge and Old Barn.

Frank was like Charlotte’s webs but only he used water bubbles to communicate. Have you ever seen water bubbles?

Crown water Bubbles images

It took me two hours to write Frank the Shark story. I made the rat from Charlotte’s Web, Templeton be the mail carrier in my story that deliver the mystery brown box. Since Templeton was always delivering something for Charlotte’s Web. I hope you like my Frank the Shark story, I used a lot of my creation muscles in this story. It the first story, I ever made that’s over 1000 words. I was so proud of myself. If you have not read Frank the Shark, please do . It would really make my day 💗

I will also share my first acrostic poem on Vocal, that keep me writing continuously and not giving up on my dream.

This poem , I used the “Playing With Words”to write it . If I feel like giving up on writing, I just go back and read my poem. I also won’t not make it this far on Vocal without the Vocal Facebook Friends. They are like a supportive family I cannot do without. I love their spirit and how they share they triumphs and failures of life. It’s really amazing how, I can relate to each one of them.

I will say writing take a Village of other writers for sure .

LifeProcessCommunityChallengeAchievements
9

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)7 months ago

    Poetry is freeing ♥️💯😁🎉📝

  • I love that writing is very freeing for you! Also, I read your Frank the Shark story and absolute loved it!

  • I enjoyed the article & learning a bit more about you, Mariann.

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    I enjoy learning the thought and structure that went into your Challenge story, and the intentional weaving of all the prompts. I can say with certainty that you are loved by our community for not only your work and example of persistence, but also your encouraging nature and support for others!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    So many nuggets in here Mariann! 👏 And the village part is definitely true! ☺️ I’m really pleased that you kept persisting with your writing. Keep at it my friend. Also, I have to check out these other pieces you referred to that you have written. 😁

  • I’m so glad you stuck with it and continued writing so we can enjoy your stories

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.