Writers logo

My First Piece I ever wrote

Writers Challenge

By Meghan LeVaughn Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
2
My First Piece I ever wrote
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

My first time doing Vocal was like one of the new steps for me during pandemic, self-worth,and isolation. Same thing as my first challenge in summer 2021. I thought it’s very important to do as many new things as I could during the pandemic. I have to take my risks including one of my fears: I have to conquer it after the ableism I faced through. For starters, I was curious, but I’m extremely nervous and disheartened. Why? Because I have a serious issue dealing with mixed receptive-expressive language disorder, one of mixed delayed development disorders I have had since I was two or three.

For years during my school, even my college, I never liked English. I’m sure others would say ‘Meghan, why don't you like it?’ I wish I could say it more. I feared it’s gonna be like ‘that’s lame excuse’, ‘you’re just lazy’, ‘why is your English so weird?’,etc. It can be shocking due to the ableist society from the school systems I’m in. It was drastic and stressful, including being pressured and desperate to fit in with these titles like ‘who’s the best student’, ‘Pro writers to novice/amateur writers,’ ‘smartest in the class’,etc. it’s like nobody cares about our own struggles except competing to reach the good grades and make the teachers and family proud. If not, we get more punished like we’re failures and made our family disappointed. Yes, it sucks deeply! Of course I had gone through speech therapy for decades, the last time was in early 2016.

Back to the first piece on Vocal, I thought about how I could write some fun random stories and adventures about my original characters I made over 20 years ago(from middle school). I am mostly inspired by the musical ‘Xanadu’ more than some of my favorite anime series I watched. My version is way more adventure and fantasy than just the Musical genre.

About the Summer Fiction Story challenge, I thought about ‘chocolate’ and summer time moments like a date night—-perfect! I really love my characters very much. I‘m trying to make them alive as possible. I know I haven’t drawn them very much for many reasons after the rough ideas and scraps I made in decades. I know the challenges are tricky and I didn’t make it. But, that’s okay. It’s okay, if I didn’t win while I participated the challenges I reached. I have to keep trying and keep opening it. Now, I have made seven fiction stories about my first OCs(short term of Original Characters) so far. I am looking forward to making more fun stories about them in the future to the community.

Writing ExerciseWriter's BlockProcessInspirationCommunityChallengeAchievements
2

About the Creator

Meghan LeVaughn

I'm Meghan. I’m almost 36. I always love to be creative and using my imagination since I was a little girl. I like stories & love to share my inspirations, journeys, etc.

www.twitter.com/MegsDreamDesign

www.instagram.com/meghansdreamdesigns

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    I'm so sorry for what you faced during your school years. So glad you've come all this way. Always keep writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.