Writers logo

My Content Creation Game

How it Will Be Changing

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - September 2023
14
Photo by Diego PH on Unsplash

And no, I don’t mean an actual game, although that would be fun.

I just thought the title would be catchy. ;)

But for my followers and subscribers, you’ll be noticing my content-sharing patterns and routines changing as we head into the fourth quarter, which should be a nice shakeup for you.

And if you’re new to me and my writing, welcome and read on!

Why the Change?

Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

I will be shifting how and where I publish my content, as well as the frequency in which I post content. Several reasons are behind this decision.

Content Popularity

Over the three years I’ve been writing online, I’ve noticed that certain forms of content perform better on some platforms while not great on others.

And I can’t change them to suit my needs better.

I need to adapt.

So, that’s what I’m doing.

Greater Reliability

As consistent as I try to be for you guys, I know I can do better, especially being a follower and/or subscriber to writers myself.

My goal is to publish once to twice a week.

I also want to make my content types more reliable, so you know what you’ll be getting from me.

Expanded Reach

Now that I am on several platforms, I feel I’m in the position to start sectioning out my content to separate places depending on their genre.

Hopefully, I’ll gain more traction as a content creator and finally begin earning a higher and more stable income stream.

And I’m not the only writer to do this; I’ve seen others and their content on multiple platforms. I even follow a few of them.

To Give You Options

I also want to give my followers and my tiny handful of subscribers options regarding what they want to read from me.

I’ve realized publishing everything onto one platform makes it difficult for you guys to sift out what you want to read.

Not all of you want to read my poetry or fiction, and many don’t have time to read longer pieces.

So, I’m making it easier for you.

Other Changes

Another notable change you might have noticed recently is the formatting of some of my content.

Looking back at my more informative pieces, I was shocked at how disorganized they were due to the lack of headings, pictures, and other elements.

No wonder they weren’t read.

That is why I’ve been working hard to create non-fiction content with these elements, so they have a nice flow and organization, like this one.

And fixing those ones as I cross-publish them, maybe gaining some reads on them.

Where I’ll Be Publishing My Content

Photo by 91 Magazine on Unsplash

I currently have six platforms I publish on outside of my website and have four primary writing types, along with eBooks, which I’ve listed below.

Fiction Stories

Short stories will be primarily published on my Vocal page, the platform dedicated to fiction stories.

Unless it’s a social or world-issue commentary piece, it will also be shared on Medium and possibly my Substack.

Microfiction/Poetry

These will be published on my Vocal, Gumroad, Ko-fi, and Buy Me a Coffee pages.

I feel my short-form creative pieces will do well in those places, as they lend better to creative writing.

Personal Stories/Other Non-Fiction Pieces

These will be published on Vocal, Medium, and my Substack. These types tend to perform well on all three platforms.

Writing/Editing Pieces

These will be published on Medium, Substack, and my website for the editing-themed pieces.

eBooks

Those, whenever I release them, will be available on my Gumroad page.

Where I’ll be Sharing My Content

Photo by Jason Goodman on Unsplash

I’ll be sharing my pieces on X (Twitter), Substack Notes, LinkedIn, and Mastodon, as well as my personal accounts.

Because while the platforms are incredible and drive a lot of traffic to them, there’s an audience much vaster in the realm of social media.

And I want to take advantage of that.

When Will it Kick Off?

Photo by Emily Morter on Unsplash

This post is the official start of the change, as I figured you’d appreciate the heads-up, although it’s been in slow roll for a couple of weeks now as I’ve been reassessing everything.

To Wrap it Up

So, yes, how I will be publishing my content is changing. I think it’s a step in the right direction for me and my writing.

And hopefully, it will benefit both of us.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

Publishing
14

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Walterego8 months ago

    Content creation is great

  • Kenneth Lawson8 months ago

    Its definitely a good idea to spread your content around to different platforms. However, we all must remember, that we're only renting space here or on Facebook, Medium, or any platform. The rent we pay is our personal information and our attention. They're main reason to exist, (in spite of what they say) is to make money. To that end, They gather information and data, which they sell to brokers who use the data for targeted ads and other ways to keep our attention on their "Products" The main point is that they can and do change the rules midstream. Any of us could for any reason, have real imaged kicked off here or they could decide for whatever reason not to continue the platform. I've heard of it happening on YouTube, Whole channels literally gone overnight. Fortunately, they did get them restored, but it wasn't easy or quick And the stress that it created for the creators can't be described. Especially those that full time Yters. So regardless of where else you put your stuff up, ALWAYS have a home base that you control and can archive your material in case something happens on one of the platforms you cross-post. too. All of the stories I post here are also up on my personal site. Along with many older ones I didn't put here, Every month when I write a new story, first, it goes on my site, then it comes here. My Linktree link to all of my content is in my Profile. .

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fantastic and informative!!! Loved it!!!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    There is a whole maze out there I'm oblivious too!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Thank you for the heads-up and for confirming something I need to be doing as well. I've been on Medium forever, but I never publish or cross-post there. I haven't really looked at the other platforms. I'm taking a much more serious look at publishing, too. I needed this reminder.

  • Awesome 👍 📝✌️Congratulations 🎉 Top Story🎉🎉🎉

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    I hope it works out well :) I'm just so impressed that you can keep all of this straight!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I always love your work! I hope you stay on vocal!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.