Writers logo

My aspirations on the Vocal platform in 2024

My goal is to do better in every area than in previous years and learn from negative experiences.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
1
My aspirations on the Vocal platform in 2024
Photo by BoliviaInteligente on Unsplash

In 2024 I want to do more

I have several 2024 goals on the Vocal platform. Mine may be different from others because of my personal experiences and the length of time writing here. My first two goals are sort of simultaneous. I am honored to have won second place in two challenges so I desire to win more contests and also to eventually win first place.

When the Weekly Leadership Board began I won for the most articles read five weeks in a row and I was honored that my hard work paid off. This category, however, was removed and that saddened me but it also told me something.

I say this with all humility that when Vocal removed the category it let me know that no one else was close to winning. I understand the rules indicate the same person cannot win in a category more than once in a week and 5 weeks at the top motivated me. This brings me to my third goal for 2024 which is to win in other categories.

By Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

Growth is the name of the game

My fourth goal is to have at least $100.00 each time I request money from my wallet. I appreciate that as a Vocal Plus member, I can withdraw when I get to $20.00. I cannot tell you how many times that $20.00 was much needed. I have randomly had over $300.00 to withdraw but this will not happen all the time. Maybe in the future but for now I would like to earn a minimum of $100.00 when withdrawal time comes around.

My 5th goal is to see 200,000 views because I was so motivated when I got to 25,000, 50,000, and 100,000. I am hoping Vocal can fix the glitch that keeps me from seeing only my stats total. I have not been able to view which stories are performing the best since last January. That's an entire year. I also am not able to see my wallet page except for the totals at the top. Being able to view progress assists in knowing where strengths and weaknesses are.

By Hannah Busing on Unsplash

Improve personal connections

Goal number six is to interact more with the other contributors. I have not been able to comment on the work of others or read all of my own comments because as a widow I am writing for survival as well as the joy of it. I did not get my husband's pension so every moment counts.

I am also a bit leary of interactions because I joined two Vocal Facebook groups and the other creators did not interact with me even when I commented on their stories. There also came a point where my articles were no longer published in either group and I have no idea why.

This rejection plus having the category I was winning removed were the two things that negatively affected me on the platform in 2023. My seventh goal is to role with the punches adn not be offended by anything and just keep writing.

By Muhammad Haikal Sjukri on Unsplash

I desire to be an inspiration

The Vocal team has been good to me regarding winning the top story and being published on the home page. My eighth 2024 goal is to produce more stories worthy of the top honor. I feel the best way for me to support other creators in addition to reading and commenting on their work is to continue by example to show them what is possible on Vocal Media. I would like to inspire others to keep giving their best work because it does pay off.

Some writing platforms do not pay off no matter how hard you write but you get out of Vocal what you put into it. So to sum up everything you have just read and put it into one goal my 2024 Vocal aspiration is to do my best in every area and be respected. I would like other creators to admire my work and be inspired to step up their game so to speak rather than feel some kind of way and shun me.

Inspiration
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.