Writers logo

Moving

How my first story resulted in a CPS visit

By Kelly BelmontPublished 10 months ago 2 min read

On a 30-year-old piece of yellowed paper, printed on a dot matrix printer, is the first "story" I ever wrote. It's only seven lines long. Written by an 8-year-old, the most impressive thing about it is that all of the words are spelled correctly. It wasn't even written for a "writing" assignment. I wrote it in computer class.

So why did my mother keep this piece of paper for three decades? Because this innocent piece of paper, or at least the seven lines on it, resulted in a story my family still talks about today.

Shortly after my father left the Air Force, our family returned to the small town where my parents had grown up. Being in their 20s with four children, renting was much more feasible than buying. Little did my parents know, the house they were renting still had a mortgage, and though they were paying rent to our landlord, he wasn't paying the mortgage. My parents didn't know anything was wrong until the bank served an eviction notice on the property. My parents did their best to shield us kids from all of this. We were simply told that we'd be moving in with my grandparents until we could find another house. Being 8 years old though, I listened to more than I should have to my parent's "grown-up" conversations.

So, in the midst of all of this chaos, my computer class was given an assignment. Type and print a short story about your life. These seven lines are what I proudly turned in. I don't remember the teacher approaching me after I handed in my assignment. I can't recall anyone at the school asking me about it. What I do remember, is that within a week a social worker with Child Protective Services was at our house.

I imagine at the time my parents must have been terrified. They were already going through so much and now this out of nowhere. Thankfully they were able to explain the situation and the investigation was closed.

To this day, one of my family's favorite stories is how Kelly got CPS called with a seven-line story.

Challenge

About the Creator

Kelly Belmont

I have been writing for more than 20 years. Fantasy, Mystery, Romance, Children's, YA, Adult. I've dabbled in a bit of everything. My daily life is spent as a wife and training coordinator for a finacial institution.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • dena donaldson10 months ago

    Thanks, Your story made me smile and caused a flashback to our old dot matrix printer.

Kelly BelmontWritten by Kelly Belmont

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.