Writers logo

Merry Christmas

Christmas Festive (Unofficial) Challenge

By Jennifer DavidPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Merry Christmas
Photo by Chad Madden on Unsplash

I came across a lovely unofficial challenge created by Daphsam. It made me smile and gave me a little bit of extra christmas joy. This challenge is simple and inclusive. I love it! This is my submission. Merry Christmas! -J

1. If you could invite any fictional character to your Christmas party, who would it be and why? If I could bring any fictional character to my Christmas party, I would invite Batman. I’ve been enamored with Bruce Wayne for years. And at this point, it wouldn’t be right if the man who holds my heart doesn’t meet my family and spend the holidays with me. If he doesn’t, it may be the end for us ... .I'm just joking around ;)

2. What are your favorite Christmas desserts and why? I don’t have a favorite Christmas dessert. All the desserts that I like I can have all year round: ice cream, strawberry shortcake, peach cobbler, pie. I even tried to make one up, but the lie felt inauthentic.

3. What is your favorite top 5 Christmas songs? “The Christmas Song” cover by Teddy Swims

“All I Want for Christmas is You” by Mariah Carey

“Give Love on Christmas Day” Jackson 5

“I’ll Be Home for Christmas”

“Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays” NSYNC

4. What is your Christmas decorating style and why? Rustic, Whimsical, Modern, Minimalist, Monochromatic? My style of Christmas decorating is what I’d consider bliss. I am mystified by the smell of fresh pine. And I love the nostalgia of a real Christmas tree in the living room, spiders and all! LOL

If I had to label my style however, I’d say it’s monochromatically classic. If I could afford it, everything would be one color, or maybe even all glass with cute trinkets around the house and outside. I’d love a dreamlike winter wonderland feel with warm woodsy aromatics and sweet soft music playing in the background.

5. What is your favorite Christmas movie, and why? My favorite Christmas movie is “The Grinch”. “The Grinch” tells my favorite type of story; one that gives you insight on why characters do what they do. It expresses how easily your perception can cloud your judgment. It shows how quickly love can turn to resentment and be healed by love again and spread. Everyone has a story. Everyone deserves love. Everyone deserves to sing with glee under a Christmas tree. That’s why I love “The Grinch”.

6. Write a haiku for this picture.

Photo by Roberto Nickson

Silent lights snow nights

Flakes fall twinkle sweet mischief

Wreaths rings Christmas joy

7. Write a funny caption for this photo.

Photo by Karsten Wingeart

“I’m not doing this anymore.” “Get up!”

8. What is your favorite Christmas book or child's Christmas story? “The Italian’s Christmas Secret: A Classic Christmas Romance” by Sharon Kendrick is a favorite Christmas romance of mine. I generally stay away from cheesy holiday reads. But this one pulls at your heart strings. Cliche, I know. It’s a, short, easy read. It’s cute. Its plot goes far beyond Christmas, drenching every page with elfs, reindeer, and hot cocoa while kissing under the mistletoe. But, it still ties in the ideals of the holiday season, hope and love in any situation....it's also kind of steamy ;)

9. What is your favorite Christmas quote? “Christmas isn’t a season. It’s a feeling”

10. What does Christmas mean to you? Christmas to me is the beginning. It’s when my hope was born. It’s when love steps in unconditionally. Christmas is a time where people freely embrace each other. It’s a time where the good in the world shines near and far. It’s a reminder that it will get better. I look forward to Christmas time because I find new ways to really be thankful for life; it’s the gift that keeps on giving.

Here's a link to the challenge. Join the festivities!

PromptsInspirationChallenge

About the Creator

Jennifer David

I hope my thoughts challenge yours

Connect with me on instagram!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Thank you for your wonderful answers to my Christmas unofficial challenge. 🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄

Jennifer DavidWritten by Jennifer David

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.