Writers logo

It's Okay If You Don't Write A Novel

A short form fiction writer's lament

By Marie SinadjanPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
8
It's Okay If You Don't Write A Novel
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

My first Vocal piece was Firestarter, a very short story about a grieving young man who runs away from home and follows a santelmo, which in Philippine mythology is a type of fire spirit that mesmerizes humans. It is said that it is the spirit of spirit of a man who has died near a river, lake, ocean, or during heavy rains, and it seeks revenge on those who may have done him wrong. (More about that here, if you're interested.)

That story is only one of the many I've written throughout the past year. (The challenges here on Vocal only contributed to that, but I'm not complaining.) In the process, I realized that I really liked writing short form fiction, particularly flash fiction and short stories. I find them easy to write; just give me some prompts and I'm set! They're also how I'm able to deal with the neverending birth of plot bunnies in my brain.

More importantly, they let me finish something. See, that's always been my struggle. I have so many ideas, and I've tried for many many years to put them into writing as novels, but somewhere along the way I just... get bored. That's why I asked the lovely Meri Benson if she was up to writing a novel with me, because I saw that she'd successfully published her own books, and I figured I needed to collaborate with someone who actually got things done to get things done. (Now we have a Norse myth fantasy series and we're releasing our third novel and the final installment of the trilogy next month. But that's a story for another time.)

Anyway, I wrote more short fiction. I posted them here, I sent them off to submission calls for journals and anthologies (some of which got published!), I kept them in my laptop's drive to deal with later. I read a lot, too, particularly Vocal's own Madoka Mori (I love Lógos the most), and the works of my friend V Astor Solomon, whose piece And The Water Said Kneel over at Pseudopod is a favorite of mine. So it should've been all good, right?

Nope. I still felt like an impostor. I felt like I wasn't a real author. It was bad enough to have to deal with the stigma of self-publishing (also a topic for another time), there was also the fact that anyone who'd look me up on Amazon and other retailers would not find a backlist. I had no readers of my own (except for my family and some friends) and I was merely riding the coattails of an established author. But to have a backlist, and to be taken seriously, especially in the fantasy genre, I needed a novel.

Did I write a novel? No. I couldn't, remember? I even tried serializing to see if that would help, but I only made it to chapter 3 of A Stef in the Right Direction here on Vocal and chapter 16 on Seriality.

I felt hopeless. I felt like a failure.

What eventually pulled me out of that funk was the realization that I had friends who were fine with writing short fiction (like my good friend Vale who 100000% supports me in this), and that there is a market for short fiction. We're here on Vocal, aren't we? Not only that, Amazon has an entire section for short reads, categorized into 15 minutes (1-11 pages), 30 minutes (12-21 pages), 45 minutes (22-32 pages), 90 minutes (44-64 pages), one hour (33-43 pages), or two hours or more (65-100 pages), and then by genre. Add the fact that you only need a minimum of 24 pages to publish a paperback...

Viola. I published a 59-page novelette (13K+ words) last July. (The paperback took me until August because I had to learn how to format and use KDP and order proof copies and whatnot.) And I've actually sold enough copies to have a flat white at McDonald's now! How cool is that?

So, if you're ever like me: don't lose heart.

There's a place for us. ❤️

PublishingInspiration
8

About the Creator

Marie Sinadjan

Filipino spec fic author and book reviewer based in the UK. https://linktr.ee/mariesinadjan • www.mariesinadjan.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    This is awesome, and so true! You know, the Outbreak of Covid-19 was terrible, but it did bring many back to the pass time of reading and people are now just gobbling up content, the shorter the better. I'm so excited for your success and for sticking to your dreams!

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Inspiring :) I had no idea that Amazon had that option! Might have to investigate it at some point in the future. Your insights are profound, and I too love the idea that you don't have to publish a novel! I've been trying to convince a friend of mine to cut her teeth on short fiction and build up to her dream fantasy series but no success as of yet.

  • Lilly Cooper8 months ago

    I have long term projects and short term ones. Like you, my short term helps me stay feeling positive about what I've achieved. I wrote a peice not long ago about how we are all following in the foot steps of many well known authors who published short stories before their novels became well known. Short form writing definately has a place in the world ❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    I am a lot like you! I needed this today.

  • So excellent pointers and information and love the plot bunnies. So great to have you back

  • Phil Flannery8 months ago

    Good insights. I think we all struggle with confidence when creating and sharing. I have come to love the short form story, and Vocal prompts have been the catalyst. I need those word count constraints. Good luck with your book series.

  • Rachel Robbins8 months ago

    As an avid reader I discovered the joy of the short story when I became a Mum. Sometimes readers struggle too with finishing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.