Writers logo

Is There A Vocal Top Story Effect?

Or Am I Imagining It?

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
18
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

Someone told me recently they had suggested to Vocal that one of their stories should have been a Top Story and it was given the accolade. It is a good story, but do comments and direct messages influence Vocal's choice of Top Stories?

The music is the excellent "Thinkin'" by Steve Forbert

Why Do I Ask?

Over, maybe the last six months I have mentioned in comments that maybe a story would be a Vocal Top Story, and fairly soon afterward the story has been chosen as a Top Story. I don't think there is any way of definitively proving this although a couple of creators have acknowledged my comment when their stories become a Vocal Top Story.

I know on Discord and Raise Your Voice that people can explicitly recommend Top Stories, but I am thinking of the effect of mentioning that something may be worthy of a Top Story in the comment.

The odd time readers say they think mine are worthy of Top Stories or even Challenge win but as far as I am aware nothing has followed on from them. I am not complaining because I see comments like that as heartwarmingly complimentary, and that is more than enough for me.

Maybe it is just that my observations are on par with the Vocal judges and moderators, although I suppose I am swayed when I am reading something by a Vocal serial Top Story nominee.

I think I would be a bit perturbed if I found out that my comments were directly causing stories to receive a Top Story nomination because then I would think that I was letting people down if I didn't comment that their story was worthy of a Top Story nomination.

I am sure that if I hold any influence it is part of some much bigger conglomeration and my perception is just skewed toward the bit that I have contributed, or maybe it is just coincidence.

I may also have forgotten about all the ones that I said might be Top Stories that did not make the cut.

Conclusion

These are just some thoughts on something that may be nothing more than coincidence, but I would love to know what others think about this.

ResourcesProcessLifeAdvice
18

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    I think this is an interesting piece, Mike. Top Story is and will continue to be a mystery to me. I am gratified when I get it but I'm not sure what it means. I have no idea why some of my stuff gets chosen whilst other stuff gets overlooked nor indeed why some of Vocal's choices for TS have been selected. I find the whole thing baffling. For me Vocal is just a place to converse with fellow writers and where I can easily publish my work. I have to admit that it used to be more about the challenges and the accolades but increasingly, it's about writing for me and sharing my stuff. This means that I'm not trying to second guess what will gain readership but just remaining true to myself. I have noticed that Top Stories are being awarded to authors who I have not encountered before and I think this is great. Because there is a lot of good unexplored writing on Vocal and it needs highlighting.

  • *inhales* Top Story Top Story Top Story Top Story …and now we await the algorithm’s next move 😁

  • I know that there have been several times people have said that a story of mine should be a Top Story & it only rarely receives the nod (usually when that person has recommended it on Discord or Facebook). I wouldn't worry about it. It's nice when someone says it, but I haven't noticed it having any effect when it's strictly in the comments.

  • Sarah D6 months ago

    notable point!

  • One of those chicken and the egg questions that may never be answered

  • There are a few of mine which in the comments you mentioned that it would becomw a Top Story but it didn't. So still a mystery to me, lol!

  • Rachel Robbins6 months ago

    I think this should be Top Story. I do know that you made this comment on my Sinead O’Connor obituary and it got Top Story shortly after. But generally it feels a bit arbitrary. But always grateful for your support and feedback.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Being nominated helps, I think. Also, as Judey said, writing about Vocal seems to work. Other than that, I don't know.

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    Mike, I can't find it right now in the Resources, but there was a story from Vocal team about a month ago on how they select Top Stories. One the criteria is community engagement, so other writers mentioning that their fellow writers' stories deserve a Top Story status could definitely play into that. Excellent article, by they way, and I admire you for making an effort to read other writers' stuff and mentioning that they deserve the TS.

  • JBaz6 months ago

    I honestly haven’t figured out what the standard is to receive top story Some of mine have and other I think would don’t even make a dent. Keep on writing and try to improve is my only thought

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    I think what you say here may have some relevance, Since vocal has the ability to monitor our comments, just the mention of the word Top Story may trigger the algorithm to prioritize the comment for them to read, causing them to take a closer look at the story in question. This has happened to me a few times where I commented to the creator that there story is very worthy and they get a top story later that day or the next. But who knows, like you said it all could just be coincidence.

  • Veronica Coldiron6 months ago

    I'm glad I got to read this. I have had some of the same thoughts as I often see no rhyme or reason for some of the ones I write getting Top Story. This one's gonna have me thinking on it for a bit! Great story!

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    I think you have just learned to recognize the earmarks of what a top story would be. When you commented on my story, I already had 12 likes and seven comments, and the story wasn't even 2 hours old. The likes and comments just kept growing at that point.

  • Judey Kalchik 6 months ago

    I think having someone suggest a fellow Creator’s story in the Raise Your Voice/Thursday thread helps. It likely helps to add it to the suggested Top Story Discord Thread. Personally-I believe writing seasonally and about Vocal also seems to help. But the best predictor is compelling writing. That’s why, IMO, you have received Top Stories.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.