Writers logo

Inspiration Strikes

Another Piece On How I Am Inspired

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
6
An AI Creation By The Author

Introduction

I have said this before but I like to share my inspiration, or rather how I am inspired, with other Vocal Creators. Something unexpected happened this morning and it is just the sort of thing that results in something that I am able to share with my audience.

I've included "You Take Me Up" by The Thompson Twins because that is what my audience, friends and my Muse do for me.

What Happened?

When I was in Whitby I discovered Sea Glass From The Past which I noticed because of a story that has stayed with me by my friend Les. That resulted in a story about the shop and sea glass which Eve shared and has resulted in a lot of wonderful feedback.

Then as I was walking this morning a few lines and rhymes came into my head and I started stitching them together into a sonnet. I find this process a little odd because my short-term memory is usually terrible.

I can forget what I want from the fridge before I open the door. When I switch between applications on my computer I see something that I want to put somewhere else and by the time I get there, I have forgotten what I was doing and have to go back to where I started.

By the time I reached the front door, with a couple of bottles of prosecco, the first quatrain was complete in my head. I got in and immediately started writing on my computer and the finished item is here:

Now I am lucky to have a secret Muse who makes my words flow, but that does mean that things that I see and hear can spark a story, or sometimes, like this morning, it just happens, as if by magic.

I do have an inquisitive mind and my modus operandi for everything is that "There Must Be A Better Way" which means lots of ideas do crop up. This story is one such thing.

Other Sources

As I write this I am listening to "Takk" by Sigur Rós and that helps me actually put words down. I have been inspired to write this to hopefully give people some ideas.

Books, magazines, and stories by other Vocal Creators can be sources of inspiration for us all. It can be different things for different people.

I always try to have a positive spin on stories and I know that is not a popular attitude but it is just my personality. I see so much prominence given to negative things that I shy away from them.

I have written a few pieces that were maybe done to purge bad feeling in me and there was the series of fifty dark poems I wrote for Dharrsheena but they were just dark but not depressing, and are gathered together in this book.

Remember you can collect your Vocal stories and anthologise them in a physical book. I have done that with five so far.

Conclusion

Sometimes inspiration can be found in the most unexpected places, but every time it comes, grab it with both hands. If you let it go, you never know when it will return.

PublishingProcessInspirationAdvice
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    May all enjoy & appreciate that precious gift of inspiration as you do, Mike.

  • My short term memory is as bad as you, if not worse and I'm half your age. So you're not doing too bad. So glad you were able to remember the first quatrain when you reached home!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.