Writers logo

I Regret not Fulfilling My Mother’s Wish

We ignore and time does not allow us again

By Ainy AbrahamPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
3
I Regret not Fulfilling My Mother’s Wish
Photo by Ivan Rohovchenko on Unsplash

My mother embraced death on 5th November 2021. May God rest her soul in peace and grant her the highest rank in Jannah.

My mother because of weakness and age had stopped cooking. I was visiting her in 2021’s summers. She had a maid who used to cook Chapattis (Pakistani Bread) for her.

That maid was not good at cooking but my mother was bearing her as there was no alternative. One afternoon when it was lunchtime, that maid started baking chapattis. I was busy with my kids and did not bother about cooking. When the time for lunch serving came I saw the chapattis “Pakistani bread” were below standard.

When my mother saw them she politely said “ Why did you not cook yourself?” She ate that with little disliking. She wanted me to cook for her and I thought the maid was cooking.

Our visit was quite short and we went back. I visited her again in October end when she was sick. She died after a few days but her wish that I would cook chapatti for her could not be fulfilled.

I often think and want to forget it as it pinches me how on earth I could not fulfill my mother’s wish. I could bake again but I did not bother and let her eat that. It makes me cry whenever I recall it.

I would request all readers to support your parents as much as they did for you in your childhood. Timely fulfill their wishes.

Thanks for reading.

VocalWriting ExerciseStream of ConsciousnessShoutoutProcessLifeGuides
3

About the Creator

Ainy Abraham

Listening to stories has always captivated me. Now, I want to share my thoughts through my stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 19 days ago

    Oh I’m so sorry this memory distresses you. Brave to share it and encourage everyone to give attention to parents.

  • Murali24 days ago

    This is a very emotional article.

  • Gloria Penelope25 days ago

    A touching story; may she rest in peace. Do not worry; I am sure she has already realized that you wish you had backed the chapattis for her. Her soul could be watching over you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.