Writers logo

I'm Planning a Book Launch

Follow me for updates

By Cynthia VaradyPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
1
I'm Planning a Book Launch
Photo by Elisa Calvet B. on Unsplash

Hey all. I have an announcement. 

I'm planning a book launch.

Most of you might know me from my articles on true crime and strange happenings, but I also write fiction. (I've published a few short stories here.)

Fiction is where my writing journey began at the ripe old age of eight.

It was third grade, and my teacher, for whatever reason, hated me. Well, I wasn't the only one. She hated most of us.

You might be thinking, hate is a strong word, but when you're eight, and an adult threatens you, takes away all recesses, and makes your school life a little slice of hell, it sure feels like hate.

In addition to cultivating a culture of fear (it was the 80s, things were different), she also had us write stories based on prompts.

I excelled in this area. Despite despising me, and reminding me every chance she got, she liked my stories. I made her laugh, and turns out, that even horrible people like to laugh.

My stories won her over, and she largely ignored me for the rest of the school year, except when it was time for me to go to language therapy for my dyslexia. She was fond of raising her eyebrows and muttering something or other about how remarkable it was that someone with dyslexia could write so well.

Like having a learning disability could impair my imagination or my sense of humor.

She was a real peach.

However, it's a sentiment I've heard over and over. How could someone with dyslexia love writing?

I retort, do you say the same thing to people in wheelchairs who love to play sports? Of course not, that sort of ableism is much too blatant and seen as a major faux pas.

Haters be damned. I've written a book. A fun cozy mystery, and I'm launching it in December.

So, here's to all the crappy teachers. The nay-sayers of little children. The dream crushers. The recess takers. The mutters of things better left unsaid. May everyone you ever kicked when they down, rise up, lifting others with them until you have to crane your cruel neck to see them floating high above you.

One last thing before I go. If you'd like to have a say on which cover you'd like to see on my upcoming cozy mystery, follow the link to cast your vote.

Remember to follow me for launch updates.

Achievements
1

About the Creator

Cynthia Varady

Aspiring novelist and award-winning short story writer. Hangs at Twtich & Patreon with AllThatGlittersIsProse. Cynthia resides in Portland, Oregon, with her husband, son, & kitties. She/Her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.