Writers logo

I Am Getting Sick Of Myself

Am I Being Vocalised?

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
9
Image by Willgard Krause from Pixabay

Introduction

Vocal has five challenges running at the moment and I seem to be getting addicted to the poetry formats especially the Abecedarian one. My last three stories have been for that challenge, absolutely ridiculous.

Another Writing Rant

I write these pieces to break up my Vocal Challenge entries, especially with the Abecedarian one. I have now entered eleven into that one, that is 286 lines of poetry, some rhyming, some not, some freeform, some not. I berated people for the number of entries that they put into the haiku and senryū challenges, although some entered well over a hundred.

I can write about almost anything so I am not sure why I have been so seduced by the Abecedarion challenge. I recently said I would take part in a challenge set by Sleepy Drafts and it resulted in this (link to the challenge is included in the piece and also it is part of my Plagiaristic Poetry series)

One of my problems is that I hate regimentation and subjective repetition but I feel that is exactly what I am doing at the moment. I am also considering doing an Abecedarian prose poem that may take in the Snowfall Challenge as well.

The thing is, if I am betting fed up and annoyed with my repetition what must other people think?

I know that I can write on subjects that have nothing to do with the Vocal Challenges and to take a line from the "What They Said" story, I feel that I am not so much in a groove as in a rut.

I may write another folk playlist, or pick up another fiction, or maybe a piece on how Vocal could be improved.

Conclusion

I can see other directions but the Abecedarian has been a sort of literary roundabout that I have been stuck on, and maybe I will include "Roundabout" by Yes to play while you read this.

VocalShoutoutPublishingPromptsProcessInspirationCommunityChallengeAdvice
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Nahhh, just because you feel a certain way about something, it doesn't mean that others do too. Take me for instance. I'm never bothered by the number of entries people make into challenges. So I'd never feel fed up with you or your entries. Don't think too much Mike. Just do what you want and what makes you happy!

  • ThatWriterWoman4 months ago

    I think if a challenge inspires you, go for it!!

  • So did this momentary diversion segue you into something different or right back into the land of the Abecedarian? I guess I'll know soon enough, lol.

  • Michelle Liew4 months ago

    Yeah, the challenges can be addictive! But they do give us exposure. Keep them coming!

  • John Cox4 months ago

    I’m with Thavien on this one Mike. It seems to me that you’re making connections by seeing the possibility of one piece meeting the requirements of multiple challenges. It might be Alice sliding down the rabbit hole or a pathway to a new form of creativity, a kind of fractal branching of recognizable patterns and yet also something new and unexpected.

  • Thavien Yliaster4 months ago

    Darn write I wrote well more than 100 haikus/senryus for challenges before. If Your mind is making more, it's because the creative portion, like a well, is being primed for making that type of content. Energy begets energy. Creativity begets creativity. Even chaos begets structure and control, that without, newer forms of chaos could not come into existence. If You're worried about being called a hypocrite, then fine. Be called a hypocrite. It's one moment in time that'll wash over You and be gone. Sure, the internet has an electronic footprint, but things are only as permanent as people let them be. Roundabout is a great song. I personally have it in my own spotify playlist. Plus, it's a favored song amongst the entire "Jojo's Bizarre Adventures" community. If You ever get the chance check out "To Be Continued..." memes. You'll get a chuckle.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.