Writers logo

Have you dunnit yet?

With only 14 days to go are you, like me, still struggling to get started on your Vocal crime fiction challenge entry?

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 7 min read
Top Story - December 2023
18
Illustration by Sidney Paget from The Strand Magazine, September 1893, public domain

Have you started writing your Whodunit challenge entry yet? Perhaps you have already submitted one? If not, like me, you may need a little additional boost to your inspiration. If you are proud, or hate the idea of AI with your whole being, you probably don't want to read further.

This article follows on from an earlier piece I wrote about the Vocal Whodunit challenge: Piecing together a murder mystery

If you are still trying to work out your Vocal crime fiction challenge entry, as I am, there are all sorts of things you could do to free up your inner detective fiction author. For example:

  • Go for a walk
  • Read a book
  • Go to a public library and hit the murder mystery section
  • Visit an art museum
  • Listen to some music
  • Have a nice strong coffee, cup of tea, glass of water
  • Do the washing up (Agatha Christie swore by it)
  • Ask your friendly AI app
  • I tried all of these things and they all helped, but none of them resulted in me getting started on my story. None of them, that is, until I went for the weapon of last result. So called 'Artificial Intelligence', aka a natural language computer program. Having agonised for the last week or so about what to write, I finally gave up and asked MS Bing Copilot for some assistance.

    The following text is mostly AI generated and I claim no proprietorial rights to any of it. Then again, neither can Microsoft or any other software provider, if a recent judgment from a US federal court is anything to go by. Anyways, if you want to take any ideas from the following, including copying and pasting or noting and adapting anything you read, please do. Text in italics indicates AI-generated. All other text was written by me.

    To start off, I asked the question: "Provide a summary of the ten best known crime fiction stories in the English language."

    Copilot said:

    Certainly! Here are the top 10 crime fiction stories in the English language, according to The Guardian

    1. The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler
    2. The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett
    3. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie
    4. The Godfather by Mario Puzo
    5. The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris
    6. The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith
    7. The Spy Who Came in from the Cold by John le Carré
    8. The Postman Always Rings Twice by James M. Cain
    9. The Long Goodbye by Raymond Chandler
    10. The Day of the Jackal by Frederick Forsyth

    I hope this helps!

    Given sources:

    • theguardian.com
    • telegraph.co.uk
    • panmacmillan.com

    I am not sure how The Spy Who Came in from the Cold is a crime fiction story, but there you have it. As it happens, this is the only le Carré novel that I rate but, to me, it is a cold-war Brit noir story, not crime. If you have not read any of the above, you should do so, as these works cover some of the most important modern crime fiction (in this case including spy story) variations in the English language. Read them, or at least read a summary of each, and it might give you some ideas.

    Being not entirely satisfied with these suggestions, I then asked: "Suggest the top five detective fiction scenarios with full summary." Here is the answer, AI generated:

    I can provide you with some mystery story ideas that you might find interesting. Here are five of them:

    1. A woman asks a writer to write the story of her life. Then she goes missing.
    2. Murder victims are found buried with some of their worldly goods, Viking style.
    3. Three people close to the murder victim have confessed. Each of them swears they acted alone.
    4. Notes and gifts from her “Secret Santa” at work take a strange turn.
    5. It’s going to be a beautiful wedding at a beautiful destination, but two people in the wedding party have been murdered.

    I hope these ideas inspire you! If you would like more ideas, please let me know.

    Inspire me? No! At least no more than the last time you gave me this list of not very interesting story ideas. Yes, Copilot, you gave me exactly the same list, verbatim, the last time I asked a similar question. So much for artificial intelligence. Nevertheless, you may be able to adapt one or more of the above ideas into a story for your own purposes. Please go ahead if you care to. Sources for the above were given by the AI as:

    1. studysmarter.co.uk
    2. owlcation.com
    3. panmacmillan.com
    4. deadgoodbooks.co.uk

    I haven't verified against sources for accuracy.

    Not having made much progress with any ideas to develop, I thought I would try a more intelligent approach. Well, for me anyway. My next question focussed on one particular author. "Can you boil down an Agatha Christie crime novel into a simple formula?

    Agatha Christie’s detective novels follow a classic formula: a group of people, often isolated from the outside world, find themselves embroiled in a murder mystery. Each character has secrets and motives, and it’s up to the detective (Poirot or Miss Maple) to unravel the truth1. The murder is usually committed in a closed environment, such as a country house or a train, and the suspects are limited to a small group of people. The detective interviews each suspect and uncovers clues that eventually lead to the murderer’s identity. Christie’s writing style is characterized by her use of red herrings, misdirection, and plot twists. I hope this helps!

    Please note I did not alter the incorrect spelling of the lead character's name, as I think it says something about AI (RT).

    Given sources:

    1. bing.com
    2. youtube.com
    3. blog.karenwoodward.org
    4. thebookslist.com

    Now, the above explanation was a little more helpful. At least it would have been, had I been keen to model my story along the lines of an Agatha Christie. I was not, but all is not lost. I might use the above descriptive to measure my whodunnit against, when it comes to editing.

    Still, if at first one does not succeed, try, try, try again. I thougth I would give it one last shot and, as it happens, it was successful, although not in the way I might have expected. Here is my question: "Can you suggest an original outline for a crime fiction drama, one that has not been used before, or at least would not be easily recognisable?"

    Certainly! Here’s an outline for a crime fiction drama that you might find interesting:

    Title: The Last Heist

    Setting: A small town in the mid-western United States.

    Characters:

    Lena, a former bank robber who has just been released from prison.

    Tom, a young and ambitious detective who is determined to make a name for himself.

    Maggie, a single mother who works as a teller at the local bank.

    Frank, the bank manager who is struggling to keep the bank afloat.

    Jack, a wealthy businessman who has a secret connection to Lena.

    Plot: Lena is trying to turn her life around after serving time in prison for a bank robbery. She gets a job at the local diner and tries to stay out of trouble. But when she discovers that the bank where Maggie works is about to be robbed, she decides to take matters into her own hands. Lena teams up with Jack, a wealthy businessman who has a secret connection to her past, to pull off one last heist. Meanwhile, Tom is investigating the robbery and is determined to catch the culprits. As the investigation heats up, Lena and Jack’s relationship is tested, and Lena must decide whether to stay true to her new life or risk everything for one last score.

    I hope this idea inspires you! If you would like more ideas, please let me know.

    Sources quoted:

    1. novel-software.com
    2. bryndonovan.com
    3. prowritingaid.com

    Now we're talking. This is what got me going. This is what set my muse a dancing, got my creative juices flowing and my nine little writing soldiers marching across the QWERTY keys. What? The story idea? NO! Not that. The story idea is pants. What got me going was the one word that reminded me of my own life of crime: PRISON.

    I used to work in a prison, many years ago, and more than once I have attempted to write a crime fiction based on the goings on within those wacky walls. So far without success. Now that I have the incentive of a $1,000 prize fund to dip my beak into, perhaps I will do a better job. Then again, who cares, at least I have got a starting point for my story. With all of the hundreds of words generated by Bing Copilot AI natural language app, or whatever it wants to call itself, the one word I needed was this:

    PRISON

    A big part of my life for the past 17 years and a huge place of learning about people, learning about the good and bad in everyone, learning about myself. What better source of inspiration for a crime fiction story? Thank you Microsoft Bing, thank you Copilot AI. None of the ideas you came up with were particularly helpful but you did generate that one word, that kick up the bum that got me going.

    I hope if you are reading this you will have found something in this article to help get you going on your venture into crime.

    Further tips and resources: Embarking on a life in crime

    AI and the writer

    Good luck with the challenge.

    Writer's BlockVocalProcessChallengeAdvice
    18

    About the Creator

    Raymond G. Taylor

    Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments (10)

    Sign in to comment
    • Novel Allen5 months ago

      I am a detective at heart, Villanelle, not at all. Great article here, I have written a whole bunch of whodunits. Just stewing on them. Great TS BTW.

    • k eleanor5 months ago

      Congratulations on top story!! ❤ This was really interesting, I liked how you've used AI.

    • Shirley Belk5 months ago

      Loved this: "A big part of my life for the past 17 years and a huge place of learning about people, learning about the good and bad in everyone, learning about myself. What better source of inspiration for a crime fiction story?" As we ponder the good and bad in each of us, it's frightening. Depending on the circumstances, we all have buttons that don't need pushing and the company we keep can coerce the good or bad to prevail, too.

    • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

      Congrats on your Top Story, my friend. It actually did help me a bit. I started a story but haven't touched it in a few days. After reading this, I'm going to spend at least an hour on it...right now! Thank you.

    • I thought about entering this challenge for about 2 minutes. Then I was like, "Nah!" While I have plenty of ideas, I just don't have the gumption. The struggle is real. But the villanelle challenge spoke to me. Congratulations on Top Story!

    • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

      This was helpful. I am still trying to write the poem Challenge.

    • Leslie Writes5 months ago

      Interesting. I have yet to come up with anything. Thank you for sharing 😁

    • Test5 months ago

      This was really interesting, I liked how you've used AI to spark an idea. May give it a go, though whodunnit isn't my bag regardless of whether the idea is good or not! Great article! Thanks for sharing!

    • Like, we don't have to exactly use the idea that AI provides us but we can use it to see if anything that it says brings about an inspiration or idea. Who knew that 'prison' was what you needed all along. Lol.

    • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

      I am fascinated by the progression of your questions and the way it jogged your own creativity. Thanks for giving us this look into that process.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.