Writers logo

Gratitude Writing Prompts from Rupi Kaur

Authentic love. Spring and fall songs. And wishes for strangers.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a month ago 3 min read
Gratitude Writing Prompts from Rupi Kaur
Photo by Ben Rosett on Unsplash

Describe instances when you’ve felt genuine and authentic love. Rupi Kaur’s Gratitude Writing Prompts

My husband looks at me sometimes with a certain look that feels like genuine and authentic love! It isn’t every look but it is enough looks that tell me it is genuine and authentic.

My husband is the charm. He is number 3 husband and even though I loved both one and two, I don’t remember getting the look from them. We had a lot in common, including children. I know I looked at my husband one like that when our children were born.

That may have been the oxytocin. A little bonding going on. And I guess that could apply to hubby’s look, although we are beyond childbearing age by quite a bit. At least I am.

Other ways he shows genuine and authentic love for me is by going out of his way to do things for me and to do the extra little things that I have come to count on.

Twenty-four years together and I can expect a card on the table on my birthday, Valentine's Day, and Mother's Day every year. A meal out goes along with the card.

He picked me up when I broke my arm, took me to the hospital, and stayed by my side. He was there when I had cancer, every step of the way. He was my caregiver. That is genuine and authentic love.

Aside from my husband, I felt genuine and authentic love from my mother, who died in 2009. She had many ways of showing her love. I have felt her love from birth, until her death.

I truly believe it is happily ever after for the two of us.

What song do the trees sing in the spring? What song do they sing in the fall? Rupi Kaur’s Gratitude Writing Prompts

In the Spring the tree will sing

“Oh, happy day,” we shall say

the flowers are just starting.

Today, let's go out and play

and sing some of our favorites

This is the song of tree hits

written by you know who its

from Denise Estey Lindquists!

~

In the fall the tree will sing

“Bring me back,” to earlier

this year, when fun was my ring

of leaves on my branches sir.

Now they lay upon the ground

to be stomped and all around

This is really so profound

That is how fall is I found!

Write a letter to a complete stranger. What do you wish for them? Rupi Kaur’s Gratitude Writing Prompts

Last night I spoke at an outpatient treatment center. There were probably 15 — 20 people in the room. The program has smaller groups and this was the larger. They have people there 3 days a week, 2 days a week, and 1 day a week. They are there for months.

One of the women asked for my phone number and I gave it to her.

My letter to a complete stranger, or the woman I met just once:

Dear __________,

It was so nice to meet you. I hope you call. You have my number and know quite a bit about me. I have worked with other women my whole time in recovery.

My wish for you is the happy, joyous, and free life I have been given. It is a miracle.

Here are just a few of the things I say to women I sponsor:

  1. Say the serenity prayer, it is important that we stay in the present. I used to live life in the past or future. We can’t have conscious contact with the Creator God in the past or future. We must be in the now.
  2. Work the steps. Without working the steps, you don’t get the promises. The promises are the best and I have had them forever! We get them after working step 9.
  3. Gratitude lists are important as our addiction demands we stay negative.
  4. Resentments will take you back to using alcohol/drugs. Pray for the person you resent for 2 weeks. Ask for what you want for yourself. It’s not easy but we can’t afford resentments.
  5. Attend regular support group meetings. There are many. Recovery works only as a “We” thing. We don’t have to do it alone and many have found that they can’t.

With Love,

Denise

~~~~

First published by Mercury Press on medium.com

Writing ExercisePromptsLife

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I loved the song of the trees! I enjoyed reading this!

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    Good work. Loved the poem that made me think and the letter was a help too even if I did not ever use drugs/alcohol. Your first prompt does describe a forever love.

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.